Saying “Hello” to Wendell Berry

In my efforts to not only read more this year but also continue to educate myself about topics that I believe are vital to our well being and that of our children and our children’s children, I have taken on a 3rd reading challenge for 2011.  It is hosted by Carrie at Books And Movies and I’ll be committing to adding at least 2 of his books to this year’s reading list.

For those of you unfamiliar with Wendell Berry, per Wikipedia he feels that:

“…the good life includes sustainable agriculture, appropriate technologies, healthy rural communities, connection to place, the pleasures of good food, husbandry, good work, local economics, the miracle of life, fidelity, frugality, reverence, and the interconnectedness of life. The threats Berry finds to this good life include: industrial farming and the industrialization of life, ignorance, hubris, greed, violence against others and against the natural world, the eroding topsoil in the United States, global economics, and environmental destruction.”

I could not agree with him more and can’t wait to explore his thoughts and feelings with the hope that they’ll help me become not only a better person but a better steward to our Mother Earth.

Do these topics concern you as well? What resources do you use to educate yourselves (and others)??



About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Green Living/Vegetarianism, Nature, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saying “Hello” to Wendell Berry

  1. Kim says:

    I so agree with this. I’m trying so hard to live more consciously and also to stop consuming so much. Thanks for stopping by Pearl’s blog. She appreciates it.

  2. silvercannon says:

    Yes, these topics concern me. I discovered Wendell Berry in the 1990′s and the people in my circles were not at all receptive. That was before I was online so maybe I can revisit some of his ideas.
    It seems like there are people getting out the message today but they are more specialized and focused on parts (which is O.K.) while Berry was a genius and suggesting a whole lifestyle.
    It is a cynical part of me that thinks if I had a more cool, celebrity-style life, people might be more influenced by my opinions so I must be content to choose my attitude and actions. It seems like it’s way more obvious to everyone now that much of how we live is not sustainable at all and fortunately there are many leaders today to show the way.
    And it would be great if some of their names could come readily to my mind—but there you have it.

  3. Carrie K. says:

    I’m glad you’re joining this one – I love Berry, and I think you will, too. :)

  4. Jessica says:

    Great post, fabulous challenge and very important topic. Michael Pollan was my introduction to sustainability living through food choices. I also found Maude Barlow’s books about water informative and eye opening. I’ve never heard of Wendell Berry, I’ll be sure to check it out.

  5. I think more people need to become aware of this issue. Really, more people need to become aware of the world’s issues in a general sense, as well. Our environment needs protecting and sustaining. Ever more so now.

Share your thoughts

