Thankful Thursday – Week Seven

It’s Thursday–the fifth day of Spring–and it’s snowing again!  Ok, so it’s only a dusting but guess what? I love snow-even if it is supposed to be Spring.  I guess Old Man Winter is not quite ready to let go…so we’re getting one last reminder of the wonder of snow before he relinquishes us to the Goddess of Spring.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DUST OF SNOW–Robert Frost

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree
Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So today I am thankful for snowflakes:)  And all the lessons that they teach us–here are three:

1.  Be unique~~They say that no two snowflakes are identical and the same can be said for us.  Embrace your uniqueness…it’s a gift.  Love yourself.  There is no room for growth without self love.

2.  Yet work together~~Each snowflake may be unique, but it’s by working in concert that snowfall (whether just a dusting or a blizzard) can occur.  Learn to cooperate with others–uniqueness is a gift meant to be used within a community.  It’s an important balance that each of us must find for ourselves.

3.  Life is short~~The snow may fall…it may last an hour, a week, a season…but inevitably time passes, seasons change, and the next part of the cycle that is life begins.  Learn from the past–but let it go.    Look forward to the future–but don’t count upon it.  Enjoy the present–it’s all we really have.

Live for now.  This is the future come to meet you and in a moment it will be your past…so just live it…because while we’re worrying about other things…the snowflakes are melting.

“Where’s the snow That fell the year that’s fled–where’s the snow?” —Samuel Lover (1797 – 1868, Irish songwriter, novelist, as well as a painter of portraits)

What are you thankful for today on this lovely fifth day of Spring?

 

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in General, Nature, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Week Seven

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Lovely thoughts mixing snow and life! I am looking forward to the season change though :)

  2. Oh how I needed to read this today! It’s snowing big fluffy flakes right now. As much as I am tired of winter, it’s very pretty! :)

  3. Joss says:

    nature’s gifts have so much to teach us – just like the snowflake.
    Thanks for posting this, it’s a good reminder to me to see beauty each day, flow with it and relax.
    walk in beauty.

  4. I try to be grateful for snow but gosh I hate it.

  5. silvercannon says:

    Lovely post Melissa.
    Right now I’m grateful for avocados, neighbors who make time to chat and also for the willingness and ability to think for myself.

  6. Megan says:

    Wonderful post Melissa! It was snowing in my neck of the woods also… Although, I do generally enjoy the snow, today I was none to happy to see the snow falling! I will admit that the trees did look pretty with a light dusting over a thin layer of ice as I drove to work. The sun hitting the trees made for a beautiful sight! Today, I am extremely thankful that tomorrow is Friday … it’s been a super crazy, busy ang long week!!!!!

  7. It certainly makes for a gorgeous morning…and we have all the more time to appreciate it as traffic crawls! TGIF

  8. I always catch your Thankful Thursday posts a day or two late. Wish I had read this one yesterday, but today it’s still meaningful. Great post!

  9. It is raining, it was raining, and it will rain tomorrow. It will rain until the Rose Parade is over in June. And I’m thankful because I like rain. I would be ever so screwed if I didn’t.

  10. I love how positive you always are. Thanks for making me smile :)

Share your thoughts

