Wishcasting Wednesday – Active Listening

We all know that communication is the foundation of all good relationships. The key to successful communication is listening.

Ok, maybe more than just listening…active listening…

Active listening is a communication technique that requires the listener to understand, interpret, and evaluate what (s)he hears. The ability to listen actively can improve personal relationships through reducing conflicts, strengthening cooperation, and fostering understanding.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.”           ~~ Epictetus

“Listen or thy tongue will keep thee deaf.”  ~~Native American Indian Proverb

“Deep listening is miraculous for both listener and speaker. When someone receives us with open-hearted, non-judging, intensely interested listening, our spirits expand.” ~~ Sue Patton Thoele

“So when you are listening to somebody, completely, attentively, then you are listening not only to the words, but also to the feeling of what is being conveyed, to the whole of it, not part of it.”  ~~Jiddu Krishnamurti

“The most precious gift we can offer anyone is our attention.” ~ ~Thich Nhat Hanh

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today Jamie Ridler asks: What do you wish to ask for?

I wish to ask that we all try to practice more Active Listening!

I am participating in Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting Wednesdays. 

What do you wish to ask for today?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday – Active Listening

  1. My heart & mind are open. I’m listening to everything you have to say! My ears are open too, but I can’t hear you through the computer. ;-) I know that you’ve had a lot going on lately. Hope everything is okay.

  2. beejee23 says:

    I think the first step in becoming a good listener is to want to be one ;) What a generous wish, and as you wish for yourself, I wish also for you.

  3. susannasays says:

    Oh boy do i hear you Melissa. Did you ever notice (i did after making a typo) that hear and heart only have one letter different and that is a “t” which is a cross form. That symbol universally means “relationship” so without listening, hearing we are out of relationship. How very sad. How very true. Thanks for piquing my awareness. I think you are well on your way to making that wish of your come true!

  4. Maggie says:

    This is quite a talent to have and a great thing to learn! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  5. April Cole says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.
    Yes… the gift of listening :]

  6. Suzie Ridler says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

    As someone who was just at the doctor’s because of hearing issues, this one really resonates with me, no pun intended!

  7. Joss says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!
    Listening, active listening, is a gift to both speaker and listener. blessings.

  8. SuziCate says:

    excellent post…active listening really is the key to good communication which in turn results in wonderful relationships.

  9. Bev says:

    A wonderful wish! may we all have active listening!
    As you wish for your self, I wish for you also!

  10. Donna says:

    A Wonderful Wish for the World! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also. xx

  11. Matthew says:

    Yes! More active listening!

    I wish I could spam this through my office e-mail to all of my co-workers. Would make my job easier. ;)

  12. Liz says:

    Yes! Many of us need practice, and who doesn’t enjoy it when someone listens to them? As you wish for yourself, I wish for you too.

  13. Mare says:

    Lovely quotes and wonderful wish! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  14. Amanda S. says:

    I can say that I’m guilty of not actively listening a lot of the time because I’m too busy doing or thinking about something else. Great reminder to be present! As you wish for yourself so I wish for you also.

  15. Lucy says:

    I can so agree with you. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  16. reikiflower says:

    what? ;]

    “Deep listening is miraculous for both listener and speaker. When someone receives us with open-hearted, non-judging, intensely interested listening, our spirits expand.” ~~ Sue Patton Thoele

    … and so does theirs. with my whole heart, i hear you. <3
    as you wish for your self i shall wish for you also <3 g!

  17. Sarah Faith says:

    Gorgeous selfless wish!!

    As you wish for yourself I so lovingly wish this for you also. xx

  18. Wendy S. says:

    Amen, Melissa! The more I study and practice a compassionate mind, the more I know that active listening is part of the healing and witnessing to both ourselves and others. As always, your beauty and light shines through.

    May active listening manifest in your life and bring you intimacy and connection with yourself and others.

  19. Vanessa says:

    Me and you are on the same page, my wish is about listening too… As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!!!

  20. Serena says:

    I have to admit, I’m not nearly as good at listening as I used to fancy myself. I could use a ton more patience. I realize that, lots of times, I am thinking of my response as I’m listening instead of giving my full, undivided attention. Not good.

    As you wish for us all, so I wish for us all also! It’s a very good wish. XO

  21. Beautiful. And I love Epictetus… and your train of thought.

    As you wish, so I wish for you also…

  22. Pingback: Them’s Fighting Words « Daddy's Little Girl

Share your thoughts

