Thankful Thursday-Making Time for Gratitude

How much time does it take to recognize gratitude, to feel gratitude, to express a little gratitude?  Apparently too much time for me lately…

You may (or may not have) noticed my absence lately…but as life bogs me down I’ve found that making time for gratitude and then blogging about it…has not been on my every expanding “To Do” list.  I’ve also found that it really should be on my list.  It’s pretty easy to develop the habit  of thankfulness and but it’s equally easy to lose the habit…especially over time…I’ve done lately.

And the longer you go without daily practice…the harder it is to get back into the habit.   I’m going to make the effort though…starting today…

I’m thankful for having this blog and this outlet…and for knowing that there are at least a few of you out there who can relate and who support me:)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.–Unknown

“It’s important to make gratitude a habit because your habits create your life.” — Sandy Harper

“If I only have the will to be grateful, I am so.”– Seneca 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What tips do you implement to maintain the habit of thankfulness even when life gets you down or people let you down?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thankful Thursday-Making Time for Gratitude

  1. SuziCate says:

    I understand. I’ve had a hard time writing lately. I remind myself of what I’m thankful for whether or not I feel like writing. Taking a walk or a long hot bath help me relax, reflect, and appreciate.

  2. I am falling out of my daily posts, as well, but not meaning to. I hope I can get started back with you. Hang in there, you can do it.

  3. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | We're Jumpin

  4. Patricia says:

    When some things become habit they lose their impact—I think being thankful is like that. To be thankful means not taking anything for granted but living the everyday like it is the first time you have experienced it. Which if you think about it every new day is a first…
    All that being said, the same happens to me and I just put off being thankful until later—later can be a long time coming. Gotta get me some discipline.

  5. We all have down times, or times when we feel overwhelmed, so, of course, we understand. Relax into who you are, breathe and take care of you.
    btw, love the photo strip at the top of your blog.
    walk in beauty.

  6. Reminds me I must get back to meditating…

  7. Megan says:

    I am right there with you Melissa… I have noticed your absence just the same as others noticing mine. It does become quite difficult to balance everything and carve out the time, even though I am still currently unemployed! I do miss it, but still can’t bring myself to do it as frequently as I once did. I do hope to be back at it more often as well… fingers crossed.

    One thing I must say though… in your “absence” know that we are still here for you, care about you and hope all is well. I have been overwhelmed by the care, concern and support I have received from blogging friends through emails, IM’s, text messages, tweets and facebook messages throughout my absence.

    We’ll get back into the swing of things eventually… until then, take care of yourself. :)

  8. With everything going on in my life, I am finding it very hard to blog at all. Hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of things soon (and you, too!)

  9. We’ve missed you! A blog is a great outlet and we all need one!

Share your thoughts

