Airing Dirty Laundry

I knew this day would come.

The day when all I really want is to get something off my chest and am forced with finally making THE decision.

Do I hang my laundry up on the community line for all to see?

Do I indulge in my desire to “rant for a post” to make myself feel better?
Do I risk certain someones reading the blog and being mad or offended? (And as I have posted this blog to Facebook this isn’t entirely anonymous so there is a risk.)

I did start out planning that this blog would simply be a way for me to express myself…a chance to ramble on about the various things going on in my life and thoughts going on in my mind. And if I could entertain/interest a few people along the way…so much the better. I don’t want to feel that I have to censor myself.

Hmm…Maybe this is the point where I walk away for a few hours to calm down and think about it. (Though the calmer I am the less entertaining a “rant” blog would be! lol)

Please give me your opinion!!!

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Airing Dirty Laundry

  1. sweffling says:

    Tis your blog to do with as you wish. Feel free. No one to tell you what to do here:)

  2. Nicole says:

    I think that readers find honesty to be appealing, so sometimes it is good to write about the bad and not just the good. That said, we writers do have to be careful as to not hurt people we know, especially when they have access to our blogs. I’m sure that you’ll make the right decision!! 🙂

  3. Brandi says:

    I try – TRY – to think about the people I’m writing about, and consider their feelings. If I think they’ll be offended by the post, or angry that I wrote about them, I change their name. Ultimately, though, it’s my blog – my outlet. It’s where I connect with my supportive sisters from around the country. We can’t go get coffee, we have to sit around our computers and chat. And hell yes, it feels good to rant every now and then.

    I do try to monitor my posts so that if I’m sounding increasingly negative, I focus on positive posts for a bit. No one wants to hear someone bitch and moan all the time, but hearing that your friends have problems and have difficult emotions (anger, sadness, lonliness), makes one feel less alone in this world. I say go for it, and if you REALLY want to rant but think it will be too offensive to publish, password protect the post and send all your close friends/readers the password. (The password to all my protected posts is always the same, and the people I don’t mind reading them all know it – “sisters”). 🙂

Share your thoughts

