Thankful Thursday – Week Two

Today I am just going to focus on what I can see in front of me and how it makes me thankful. As I write this post, I am sitting in my office at work. Most days to be honest, I would be thinking…”Ughh, work again…why can’t it be the weekend?” However, Thursdays for me…are now all about focusing on the positive.

1. I have a job. That alone in this economy is no small matter. The unemployment rate here in NJ is 9.1% only .3% shy of the national average. I know plenty of people who don’t have jobs and simply can’t find something in this market that will pay enough to support their families.

2. I actually like my job. (Well most of the time anyway.) Sure there I times that I want to throw in the towel…but on the whole I enjoy the challenges presented, like most of my colleagues and never have to wake up dreading to go to work.

3. I have my own office. After working in a mix of both cubicles, shared offices, and single offices over the past 15 years, I can definitely say that it makes a huge difference. I can get so much more work done without the distraction of hearing the murmur of chatter in the background and constantly being startled by people walking up behind me. Cubicles definitely break all the rules of Feng Shui.

My Office (view from the door)

4. I have an office with a window.  Even if the view isn’t spectacular…it really makes the small room seem so much larger and lets in a lot of light.  I love sunlight…it is nature’s pick me up!

My Window

5. And this week thanks to the wonderful boyfriend and Valentine’s Day, I have lots of goodies in my office to lift my spirits–especially the gorgeous bouquet of Tulips and Iris on my desk.

My desk (view from my chair)

My beautiful flowers

My other goodies 🙂

So that’s my short list for this Thursday. What are you thankful for today?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, General, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Week Two

  1. vixter2010 says:

    I’m so jealous you have your own office, it’s looks a lovely little space and the flowers and cute teddy make it your own. You should def be thankful for it 🙂

  2. I noticed the flowers right away…..Beautiful! I bet they smell downright great – what a lucky gal you are! Nothing beats positive thinking…great post!
    Debbie 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and leaving me word on my blog!

  3. silvercannon says:

    Gorgeous flowers!

    I’m thankful–for strawberries, my sense of humor, Robert B Parker books, that heat is included in my rent, that I was happy and productive today and that people smiled at me and held doors open patiently for me today.

  4. JLO says:

    What a beautiful office! The flowers are gorgeous too! I agree, it’s so important to look at what we have (rather than looking at what we don’t have).

  5. Those tulips and irises are lovely. And a boyfriend who knows better than to buy boring roses? It’s true — you have much to be thankful for!

  6. Michelle says:

    Thankful Thursday… what a great idea! (And I *love* your office — I work in windowless cubeland and I’m really not a fan. But certainly thankful to have a job in this crazy job market.)

    • Having a job is definitely the most important thing these days-unemployment rates are crazy but the cost of living keeps rising! I lived in cubeland for years …so I can relate to that. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

Share your thoughts

