The Heart…

We think of it so romantically…

But what happens when it breaks…

Actually…I’m talking about this kind of heart….

I think that we all take our hearts for granted.  I know that I do.  I bet that most of you do as well.  I keep telling myself that tomorrow I will eat better…tomorrow I will start exercising…tomorrow…tomorrow…tomorrow…

Always tomorrow…what if tomorrow is too late?

A colleague of mine just buried a friend last night who died at the age of 41.  Another friend and colleague is at the hospital today with her husband who may need open heart surgery.  Did either of these people think that it would be them?

Last week, the Centers For Disease Control (CDC) released its 34th annual “Health, United States Report.”  Per this report: in 2007 – heart disease was the leading cause of death in the U.S.- at 25 percent.  Despite this fact, Americans consistently make choices that put their heart health at risk.

Nine out of 10 heart disease patients have at least one risk factor. Several medical conditions and lifestyle choices can put people at a higher risk for heart disease, including:

  • High cholesterol
  • High blood pressure
  • Diabetes
  • Cigarette smoking
  • Overweight and obesity
  • Poor diet
  • Physical inactivity
  • Alcohol use

Below is the percentage of U.S. adults with heart disease risk factors in 2005-2006.

Risk Factor %
Inactivity 39.5
Obesity 33.9
High Blood Pressure 30.5
Cigarette Smoking 20.8
High Cholesterol 15.6
Diabetes 10

In 2003, approximately 37% of adults reported having two or more of the risk factors listed above.  (source: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/hus/hus08.pdf )

I hope all of you take a moment to love your hearts today…rather than waiting until tomorrow…because for 1/4 of us…tomorrow will be too late.

 

 

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, General, Green Living/Vegetarianism, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Heart…

  1. susannye says:

    Melissa – sorry to hear about your friends – take care, stay well and healthy…S.

  2. This is something that is a main concern of mine. My father died of a heart attack at a young age, 53 and my mother had congestive heart failure and almost died about 8 years ago. My risk of developing heart disease is very high so I make sure to get exercise, eat well and reduce stress with yoga and meditating.

  3. fordeville says:

    Definitely scary stuff and always a prudent reminder. Thanks for posting.

  4. alliecakes says:

    I learned how scary heart disease is about 3 years ago when my Mom who takes care of herself – eats healthy & exercises – started having heart problems and ended up having a triple bypass at age 52! I’m lucky that nothing worse happened but it was still a very scary time in my life and I definitely have to be careful of future heart disease myself.

  5. With heart disease running in both sides of my family, I know its up to me to do everything in my power to prevent this from happening to me too. While I can’t escape my genetics, I can eat right, stay active, and keep my weight down.
    Thanks for posting this, it is so important to make sure everyone has this information because the more informed everyone is, the better off we’ll all be.

Share your thoughts

