Outdo Yourself

After my research into American Literacy yesterday, I made a pledge to myself to read more and watch television less this year and beyond.

When I think back to my school years I amazed by how much I read–at least a book a week…usually 2-3 a week.  Once I graduated college and started working and living on my own…the hours seemed to be eaten up by the daily grind at work, the commute,  and by cooking and cleaning and shopping…  And the few minutes that I did have at the end of the day…were spent sitting in front of the television for some brainless entertainment.  I’m lucky if I read 1-2 books a month now-I read less than 25 last year (only 20 that I actually tracked and can now recall)

So I’ve been searching online for a few reading challenges to join this year and have found one so far that is perfect.

It is hosted by The Book Vixen and quite simply challenges one to read more books in 2011 than in 2010.  Simple and exactly the type of challenge to get me going this year. Me vs. Me…my kind of competition!  Feel free to sign up at her website here.  And feel free to keep me honest…by checking up on me. I’ll be starting a new page of reading challenges in addition to the Reading List pages that I currently have.

How many of you are active readers? Do you participate in any challenges??  What are you currently reading???

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Outdo Yourself

  1. Vixter2010 says:

    Great goal, reading is such a rewarding pastime! I commute to work so often use that to read or at weekends when I have free time, my evenings are for brainless TV 🙂 good luck with it!!

  2. silvercannon says:

    “Me versus me”–I love it. I’m a very active reader but don’t participate in challenges. Since I read lots of books at once, skim some of them and don’t finish others I don’t keep track.
    Since I enjoy your blog, I’ll be tracking how you do with this.

    • I’ve only recently started keeping track…for some of those same reasons. I just feel that if I don’t start now…before I know it the television will eclipse my reading time. I need to force myself to keep me accountable.

  3. Ramblings of a Singleton says:

    This is a really great idea – setting goals and tracking your progress is a brilliant motivator. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Joss says:

    will go check out the challenge, just for the fun of it. I read a lot, always have. Don’t know what I would do without books. And now I have an EReader so don’t even need to physically go to the library. it’s all good. Read on everyone.
    I always felt that if I gave my children nothing but a love of reading, I would have given them the world.
    walk in beauty.

  5. Laura says:

    I know what you mean about work and such eating up all your time, there definitely should be more hours in the day. You end up trying to cram it all in the last dying hours of the evening when you’re most tired!

    Good luck with the challenge!

  6. Andrea says:

    i know what you mean about forgetting what you have read Melissa! I typically read 3-4 books/month, not including our reading selection for the book club. But lately, with reading the heavy duty classics, i have not been able to keep up such a pace. Perhaps for 2011, it will be the quality of the books i have read and not the quantity? LOL By the way, i have not given up on Great Expectations, i am still reading it. Between the slow writing are flashes of pure genius in this story. it’s keeping me interested. Cutting for Stone looks like another biggie.

    • Yes…the weight of the classics definitely makes it hard to keep up with other reading goals in between book club meetings! I agree about Great Expectations…there definitely are flashes of genius…along with the simple telling of the times. Pip’s character development and self discovery and intentional “un-discovery” are brilliant. I am almost done and then plan to read Water for Elephants before tackling Cutting for Stone.

Share your thoughts

