Dreaming of the Emerald Isle

I’ve always had a fascination with Ireland for as long as I can recall.  We’ll just presume that it’s in my blood…even though I’m only about 1/5th Irish.  And visiting Ireland is on my as yet incomplete and unpublished (look for it soon) Flirting with Forty (title not yet set in stone) list. That is why when I stumbled upon this next book challenge over at Books and Movies, I knew it was perfect for me.  The fact that anything that I read for this challenge will count toward  the Outdo Yourself challenge and that I already have a few Celtic books on my TBR (To Be Read)  shelf also help 🙂  And to top it all off…this week is St. Patrick’s Day!

~ The challenge runs from January 1, 2011 to November 30, 2011~

~ Any books read for this challenge can also apply to other challenges you are working on~

~ Re-reads are allowed~

~ Any book written by an Irish author, set in Ireland, or involving Irish history or Irish characters, counts for the challenge – fiction, non-fiction, poetry, audiobooks, children’s books – all of these apply~

Choose your commitment level:

Shamrock level: 2 books
Luck o’ the Irish level: 4 books
Kiss the Blarney Stone level: 6 books

I am joining at the Luck o’ the Irish level and can not wait to start!!

Are there any particular destinations that tug on your heartstrings? And do they correspond at all to your ethnic makeup or is there another reason for your love of a particular area??

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dreaming of the Emerald Isle

  1. vixter2010 says:

    It’s cool to have an interest in a place, I love New York. I have been twice but even before that I felt an infinity with it and have a couple of framed photos in my room. Sounds like a fun challenge, you shoudl read Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern, great Irish chick lit!

    • New York is an amazing city…so much to offer… I’m lucky that it is right on my doorstep. In terms of US cities I think that Boston will always have the most pull on my heartstrings though.

      Thanks for the recommendations, I’m going to be making myself a tentative list this week.

  2. I have always been drawn to Ireland as well. (Most likely because I’m part Irish too!) The other places I want to visit before I die are England, Greece and Italy. As for the US, I used to live in Olympia, WA and I fell in love with the Northwest. Loved Seattle and Portland, OR. The only part of the country I haven’t visited yet is the southwestern states…would love to see the Grand Canyon one day. I’d better start saving up some money, huh? 😉

  3. Joss says:

    For years I have had visions of Nine Ladies dancing in a circle. They seem to come to me at times of great pain. Coincidentally, (there are no coincidences) there is a circle of stones in England called The Nine Ladies and I want to go visit that someday.
    walk in beauty.

  4. silvercannon says:

    Ireland, England and New Zealand

  5. It seems that a lot of us are drawn to Ireland….hmmm…

  6. Carrie K. says:

    Welcome to the challenge! I look forward to hearing about the books you’re reading. 🙂

  7. i mainly want to go to europe–ireland and england are on my list, as are australia, fiji, new zealand, the greek islands, spain, italy and a return trip to aruba. oh, and dollywood. i love dolly parton. the only place i’d like to visit in relation to my heritage is poland, to pay my respects at auschwitz.

  8. bookinglass says:

    Hello! What a wonderful idea, although I wouldn’t choose Ireland, I think I would have to go with Australia…. I love anything about Australia. I read this book called ‘holes’ a long time ago… it was so cool!

  9. greycatsidhe says:

    I am very drawn to Ireland. England as well, in particular Penzance. I’ve been to both and yearn to go back terribly…

  10. Deidre says:

    Growing up I always wanted to go to Australia. It all started after I read this book: Looking for Albrandi (or something…I am not great with titles). And then when I was in college I decided I’d study abroad in Australia….and now, I live here.

  11. suzicate says:

    Would love to go to Ireland. It’s gorgeous there. I hope you get to go.

  12. My boyfriend and I have that on our list of must-see places. All the pictures make it seem like such a beautiful place to see.

Share your thoughts

