Earth Hour 2011

How many of us think about the impact of flipping a single light switch in our home or office?  How many of us really stop to think about the impact that any of our actions have?

This Saturday at 8:30pm local time, I encourage all of you to flip that switch for one hour and take the time to think about how all of our actions impact ourselves, our families, our local communities, the global community, the environment, and seven generations of our children.  There is so much that each of us can do with the simplest little changes…

“In our every deliberation, we must consider the impact of our decisions on the next seven generations.”~~~The Great Law of The Iroquois Confederacy

What started with 2.2 million homes and 2000 businesses in the city of Sydney, Australia in 2007 is now a global phenomenon across seven continents and including over 130 countries.  Please go here to read more and pledge to join the 2011 Earth Hour.

 

Will you be participating?  Why or why not??  And what suggestions do you have for going “beyond” the hour???

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Green Living/Vegetarianism, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Earth Hour 2011

  1. Megan says:

    I think this is GREAT! I will most definitely be participating on Saturday. I try to be conscientious in my daily activities… turning lights off, utilizing reusable shopping bags, etc. One thing I know for sure, I need to do more!

  2. vixter2010 says:

    It’s good to bring awareness to it for sure, I hope it does some good!

  3. Joss says:

    participate every year and love knowing that for miles around, all lights are off! Makes us all stop and think of how much of everything we waste.

  4. greycatsidhe says:

    I’m so glad to see I’m not the only one who is doing this! I don’t live in a large city so I always feel really isolated unlike all the people in the videos.

  5. Wendy S. says:

    Thank you Melissa for bringing notice to this. I think if we keep up using all the resources that we take for granted, we’ll be having more darkness than we ever expected. I’m definitely going to be hitting the switch this Saturday.

  6. I am so heartened to know that there are other out there like me who see the importance of not taking our resources or our environment for granted!

  7. hipydeus says:

    I will flip that switch!

  8. A few years ago, I helped to organize a city-wide response to Earth Hour in San Francisco. That was the most fun I had on the job and certainly something I’m not likely to forget.

Share your thoughts

