Thankful Thursday – Week Eight

I’m going to be honest.  I am having trouble finding something to be thankful for today.  I’m having one of those days where you wake up exhausted and in a “funk” and everything seems worse than it is.  All the daily annoyances that you normally ignore seem to be magnified tenfold. All the slights that you normally ignore weigh on your heart like a pile of bricks.  And on top of that…it’s cold and raining…again…

Despite all this, there is at least one thing for which I am very thankful today.  That something is friends.  People who stand by you, care about you, and support you no matter what…

To all of you who read my insignificant blog, who take the time to comment and give me feedback.  Your support means the world to me.

Thank you friends.

What are you thankful for today?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, General, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Week Eight

  1. ❤ Thank you for providing us with the words to read.

  2. Michelle says:

    I was feeling like that yesterday. I too am VERY thankful for the wonderful friends I have and the support they give me during difficult times. It is comforting to know that you are never really alone. So to all of my friends, thank you for being a friend (cue Golden Girls theme song).

  3. Megan says:

    So with you on your sentiments for today my friend… It’s freezing here, snow yesterday and possibly more to come; I’m way beyond exhausted and sleep deprived, beginning to know what the walking dead feel like; and oh the annoyances of the day are absolutely magnified. I sympathize with your funk and all that comes along with it! BUT, I too am so very thankful for friends both in-person and those I’ve had the pleasure of meeting here. Sometimes, a little dose of support from my friends on here is just what I need when the day is not going the way I’ve anticipated. Uplifting and comforting words that are shared, or even a simple “I’m sorry you feel that way” or “I understand” can work wonders for me. Hope your day gets a bit better and your funk fades away… Smiles and hugs sent your way my friend 🙂

    • So hoping that you are able to catch up on some sleep and wake up feeling refreshed and in a better mind set tomorrow. Thanks for the positive thoughts, Megan!

      • Megan says:

        While I haven’t caught up on sleep as of yet and am hoping to do so shortly, my day did improve. I hope your day did as well dear. I think the weather really has a large part to do with all of it, don’t you? Come on, Spring!!!

  4. Joss says:

    Sometimes when I’m in a funk, I just let myself be there. Other times I ask myself “do I really want to spend this day being miserable?’ Other times I put on some music – loud – and dance or lie on the floor and just soak it in. And sometimes I ask “what is going on inside me”. But ya know, it’s okay to be in a funk really. It will pass.
    walk in beauty.
    and yeah where would we be without friends? Friends make this journey worthwhile, for sure.

  5. vixter2010 says:

    Don’t worry, we all feel like that sometimes! I think you have chosen well – it’s so nice to feel supported. I hope your day gets better 🙂

  6. Wendy S. says:

    Sometimes the best we can do is be thankful that we’re alive…I start feeling guilty on days like you’re having when I’m not more grateful for the blessings I have, but guilt like that is pointless. We can’t always be grateful, but we can have compassion for ourselves and realize that there are going to be “horrible, rotten, no good days.”
    Hug your kitties that always helps me : )

    • So true…feeling guilty is very counterproductive. One needs to either accept things as they are or change them! Can’t wait to get home tonight and cuddle with my babies. (They are getting along better btw…I’ll email you soon:)

  7. This has been a trying week for our family. Just seems like nothing is going right at all. And this morning, I managed to dump an oatmeal packet into my coffee, vacuum up a curtain…and my daughter decided to “clean” by pumping her Dora soap foam all over every window in my house. Then I found pink playdoh all over the back of my couch. I had to laugh at it all. So I am thankful that I haven’t lost my mind today. I still have a few shreds of sanity left. All day long I repeat: Deep breathing. It’s gonna be okay. 🙂

  8. silvercannon says:

    It will pass. Your weekend may be a lot brighter for it when this clears.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Bake something!

  10. analyfe says:

    I’m sure your day is already better, knowing that so many people have stopped by to share kind words. Now that’s something to truly be thankful for! I hope you day just keeps on getting better. 😀

  11. I’m thankful that I finally had time to read through your blog! Love it so much I subscribed. 🙂

    I’m thankful that something bigger than I am is looking out for us and showering our family with the things we need in abundance of right now which is allowing us to easily work towards a lifelong dream.

    Great series! 🙂

  12. I clicked over here from Wendy (writerwoman61)’s blog — and am sorry to hear you’re having a bad day! I think it’s been a rough winter, for even us hardy Northern folk. Hang in there, and from the reaches of cyberspace, I’ll send you some good wishes!

  13. Perfectly said 🙂 I hope you’re having a better day today. Hopefully it will stop raining and just think.. it’s now Friday. What can be better than that?

  14. Ugh, I know what you mean. Some days are sooo hard to get a handle on, and the most frustrating thing is that there’s almost never any one particular thing to put your finger on that’s causing the funk. On those days, I pour myself a glass of red wine and crank up the Zeppelin tunes. And at the end of the day, I focus on the positives (even if they were far and few between). Thankful Thursdays don’t hurt, either!

  15. Nicole says:

    I hate funky days… Have a better day tomorrow! As for me, I smiled today when one of my best friends came over for dinner. Hadn’t seen her in awhile, but it was just what I needed! 🙂

  16. I am familiar with those kind of days. It just takes a bit more digging to find things to be grateful for. But there are always simple things to be found…from a “I am grateful for my cup of coffee” to “I am grateful for the internet.” Friends are something to always be grateful for, too 🙂

  17. suzicate says:

    Some days are more difficult to be thankful than others…it just makes me look harder and find the extraordinary in ordinary moments…some times it’s the smallest things that actually mean the most. I realize I am a few days late with a comment, but I hope you find something absolutely wonderful to be thankful for, and if not I hope you dig deep and find some small meaningful moment.

  18. Your honesty strikes a particularly meaningful chord with me today. I’ve been dealing – well, attempting to deal with an aching personal loss – for the better part of this week, and not very much has looked bright, or hopeful. Then I remembered that I had not depended, in a very long time, on my own quiet inner reserves of strength. Sometimes it feels like all we can rely on is ourselves — but if we learn to love us enough, this is nowhere near as bleak and depressing as it sounds. 🙂 I think today, I’m most thankful for being able to accept and realize the beauty in that.

    I look forward to reading many more Thankful Thursdays from you, Melissa.

    • How right you are that we need to learn to love and depend upon ourselves first…we can not expect other to give us strength but rather to support us and join their strength to ours. I am hoping that things are looking a bit brighter for you this week.

Share your thoughts

