Thankful Thursday – Week Nine (Banana Choc Chip Muffins)

Where does the week go?!  I can’t believe that it’s Thursday again 🙂  This Thankful Thursday I am going to try something new…I’m going to pretend to be a food blogger!  Since moving into my new house…one of the things that I am very thankful for is my kitchen and all my lovely counter space.

Over the weekend I had some lovely bananas that had become just a bit too soft for my taste…so I found a recipe for Banana Nut Muffins on foodnetwork.com.  I didn’t have nuts; I substituted chocolate chips–you can never go wrong with bananas and chocolate 🙂

I amassed my ingredients (I’d already mashed the bananas and melted the butter by the time I thought of taking pictures):

I combined all the wet ingredients…including the all important vanilla:

I whipped it “like I meant it” per Tyler Florence’s instructions:

I added the dry ingredients:

I added the mashed bananas:

And then came the chocolate chips…Mmmmm:

Stir, stir, stir:

And into the muffin tins the batter goes:

The recipe was supposed to yield twelve…I ended up with eighteen. I think my bananas were monsters! I’m not complaining though….

Twenty minutes later–out of the oven they come:

I could not resist them for long…only about as long as it took the kettle to boil water for tea:

You can actually see the chunks of banana if you look closely:

I must say that I was quite pleased with the results…fairly heavy such that just one with some fruit made a perfect breakfast.  The banana flavor jumped on my tongue 🙂  And the chocolate chips…well what can i say…just decadent enough to make it feel like having dessert for breakfast.  I was definitely thankful that I’d found a delicious way to use up my overripe bananas!

It’s your turn!  What are you thankful for today?

Btw, here’s the recipe…with my tweaks:

Ingredients
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 overripe bananas
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F, lightly butter or instead line muffin tins.
In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. Mash 2 of the bananas with a fork in a small bowl so they still have a bit of texture. With an electric mixer fitted with a wire whisk, whip the remaining bananas and sugar together like you mean it, for a good 3 minutes. Add the melted butter, eggs, and vanilla and beat well, scraping down the sides of the bowl once or twice. Mix in the dry ingredients just until incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips and the mashed bananas with a rubber spatula. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins to fill them about halfway. Give them a rap on the counter to get any air bubbles out.
Bake until a toothpick stuck in the muffins comes out clean, 18 to 20 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before turning the muffins out. Serve warm or at room temperature.
About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Week Nine (Banana Choc Chip Muffins)

  1. YAY! You have no idea how perfect your timing is! 😀 I have a rather embarassing amount of frozen bananas in my freezer so I’ve been promising the kids all week we would make Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins and then voila there is your post in our inbox this morning! Now I won’t get all distracted searching online for a good recipe – thank you! And I would love to be a food blogger too, but that is really Heather’s department for our blog! 😀 I just coast along on her coat-tails recipes, and now my husband thinks I can actually cook, which as Martha would say, is a good thing. :Þ

    ~Laila :o)

    • Ha! I am all for coasting on others’ recipes…I’ve never had success just trying to make something on my own. Disaster alert! Now that I finally have a real kitchen again…I am determined though to try to put more variety in my meals! Hope the kiddos like the muffins…my nieces did!

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Nice kitchen and good baking skills, I’m afraid I don’t like bananas tho 🙂 I’m thankful for the sudden warm sunshine over here woo!

  3. Oooh, those look delish! Thanks for sharing! 😀

  4. Beth says:

    Love your kitchen!

  5. Wendy S. says:

    I love your kitchen and how cozy it looks, perfect for baking muffins! Today, it’s cold and cloudy outside, so those muffins look so yummy…I’m thankful that I also have a sweet and beautiful kitchen where I “sometimes” bake treats for myself. Thanks for the recipe, I can even smell how delicious they are throught the computer screen ; )

  6. Matthew says:

    One thing I like adding when making banana bread (or muffins), or well almost any baked good…halfing the vanilla and adding almond extract. So in this case 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond. Adds a nice, sweet, flavor kick.

  7. Woah. Hold up. Did you just combine my two favorite kinds of muffins into one?!?!

    Feel free to send me a box of these. 😉

  8. Absolutely beautiful pictures! It looks SO yummy! I will have to try this recipe for sure (I’m a sucker for chocolate chips!)

  9. I was looking forward to your Thursday post today! Those look delish! I will try to veganize that recipe because now I have a craving for banana chocolate-chip muffins!

  10. That all looks delicious! All I know is if I tried to bake and take pictures of it at the same I’d be guaranteed to somehow destroy my camera!

  11. Joss says:

    you can pretend to be a food blogger anytime. Yummy looking muffins and you did a fab job with pics and instructions.
    and you got to enjoy tea with fresh baked muffins. it’s all good!

  12. Meg says:

    Yum! Great recipe and your kitchen is so cute!

  13. tknologlvr says:

    You have a gorgeous kitchen!

  14. sweffling says:

    They look delish! And like your post last week, it is friends I am thankful for at the moment. Those wonderful people who are there for you when life gets hard:)

  15. smilesndreams says:

    I like this concept of thankful Thursdays! I love all the pics here in this post btw. And thanks for sharing the recipe, I’ll try it sometime.

  16. These look delicious. I absolutely love banana chocolate chip muffins – one of the best desserts (or breakfasts, especially crumbled into a bowl of yogurt).

  17. suzicate says:

    You can NEVER go wrong with bananas and chocolate. Silly as it sounds, today I am thankful for today.

  18. Souzapalooza says:

    What is is about a muffin that is so comforting? Thanks for posting the recipe. I’m going to have to try it! If you like Blueberry Muffins, I posted some pictures and a link to the recipe on my blog Sunday. http://thesouzapaloozablog.com/2011/04/10/sunday-cooking-in-full-effect/
    I’m thankful I found your blog this Thursday 😉

Share your thoughts

