Sunday Snapshots – Ornamental Tree

Here’s one of small ornamental trees in my front yard.  It just started blooming beautiful white flowers.  Now I have to try to figure out what it is!!

Are there any aspiring “horticulturists” out there who’d like to hazard a guess??

 

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Nature, Sunday Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Snapshots – Ornamental Tree

  1. A dogwood? It is very pretty, whatever it is. 🙂

  2. Vixter2010 says:

    Aw cute! Looks like blossom but I have no clue 🙂

  3. silvercannon says:

    It reminds me of the Oleander tree my grandmother used to have. Hers was kept in a large bucket so it could be moved around outside and was pruned so the branches didn’t cascade down like the one in the picture. As kids, we were told the flowers were poisonous. I believe the book and film, Oleander, dealt with a murder regarding that.

  4. What a pretty tree! Sadly, I have no clue what it is!

  5. Megan says:

    I would have ventured to guess a dogwood by the looks of the flowers, but not sure because of the weeping branches. No matter though, it is BEAUTIFUL! Spring is finally here isn’t it? It’s beautiful today here, FINALLY!!! Enjoy your day Melissa! 🙂

  6. The closest thing I can find online is the Snow Fountain Weeping Cherry…but the flowers do not look quite right…hmmmm….

  7. RFW says:

    Looks like a weeping cherry tree to me too- or maybe a pear blossom. IDogwood has that crosslike flower and I think it’s too early, depending where you are.

  8. Nicole says:

    I LOVE that tree, but I have no idea what it is. Ha, ha.

  9. So pretty! I think either the weeping cherry or maybe some kind of magnolia? Or am I way off on that one? The flowers to do remind me of the cherry blossoms in DC around this time of year, though.

  10. Joss says:

    what a beautiful tree. the blossom looks like cherry so I’m going with a Weeping Cherry tree. enjoy its beauty!

  11. Well the flowers do look like a dogwood, but the tree does not so I have no idea. Super pretty though! (I wish we had ornamental trees in our yard.)

  12. I’ve noticed a few others in the neighborhood…though fuller and in better shape. (I assume that the previous owners didn’t prune it as needed…as you can see by the dead lawn-they didn’t really put any time into the yard.) Once the weather gets warmer and we’re out walking a bit, hopefully we’ll meet some of the neighbors who have one and can ask them. For now, I think I’ll go with the general consensus and assume that it is a weeping cherry.

  13. Meg says:

    Nope. No way that’s a dogwood. Dogwood flowers are much bigger than that. (I did a school report on dogwoods in 7th grade!)

    I, too, think it’s some kind of a weeping cherry. Very pretty!

  14. Hmmm I have no idea what it is, but it’s pretty!!

  15. suzicate says:

    I have no idea but it’s pretty and a weeping cherry sounds fitting to me!

  16. I do think that it’s a “Snow Fountain” weeping cherry!

    http://landscaping.about.com/cs/treesshrubs/a/weeping_trees.htm

    Definitely a Prunus of some kind.

Share your thoughts

