Thankful Thursday – Week Ten (Time, Memories, & Perception)

Have you ever noticed that some days seem to have flown by while others slowly creep through the 24 hours?  Why is that?  Isn’t a day 24 hours regardless of how you spend those hours?  I don’t think so….

TIME (per m-w.com): a nonspatial continuum that is measured in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future.

I think that time is all perception.  And that perception is based upon memories.  If a weekend is spent keeping busy and active it may appear to go quickly at the time, but in retrospect there will be so many memories attached to that weekend that it will stretch in the mind.  One will think…”what a nice long weekend.”  Conversely, if a weekend is spent relaxing and “taking it easy” upon reflection it seems to have flown by due to lack of attached memories.

LA PERSISTENCIA DE LA MEMORIA ~~~~~Salvador Dalí~~~~~

We don’t get to choose how much time we have…we don’t always get to choose what happens to us within that time frame.  However we do get to choose how we react to what time gives us and how we use it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I must govern the clock, not be governed by it.” ~~~ Golda Meir

“Time is but the stream I go a-fishing in.” ~~~ Henry David Thoreau

“Lose not yourself in a far off time, seize the moment that is thine.” ~~~ Friedrich Schiller

“It is my feeling that Time ripens all things; with Time all things are revealed; Time is the father of truth.” ~~~Francois Rabelais

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I am so thankful to have time. I’ve no idea how much of it I have — none of us do…  But I realize that it is a precious gift and one that I certainly do not want to squander.

Make the most of every minute that you have…be thankful.

And most of all:  Make Memories.

What memories do you plan to make today and this weekend??

“Time moves in one direction, memory in another.” ~~~ William Gibson

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Week Ten (Time, Memories, & Perception)

  1. Isn’t it interesting how as a child, time seems stretched out. I suppose it’s because they live in the present moment. And as adults, it’s rush rush, busy busy and as a result time flies by so fast. Today I plan on walking down a dirt road with my daughter and throw some rocks into a creek. Not a bad way to spend a spring day! 🙂

  2. tknologlvr says:

    The Persistence of Memory is a Dali favorite for sure. I hope I am using my time effectively. Thanks for the post.

  3. Vixter2010 says:

    I need to use time better, not wish it away or use it badly. I want those good memories! Time seems to slip away more the older I get eek 🙂

    • I think that the older we get the more we find ourselves doing things out of obligation or doing things for others (bosses, family, etc) rather than doing the things that will make us feel happy and fulfilled.

  4. The changing seasons are making me reflect on time lately and the fact that as a kid school stretched out FOREVER and summer breaks were way too short.

    Now as an adult time is still flying, but the school years seem to go even faster. My college reunion is this year and I’m just flabbergasted!

  5. Joss says:

    perhaps a good question to ask each morning – what memories will I make today. Excellent post.

  6. RFW says:

    Great quotes – thanks!

  7. Autumn Earthsong says:

    Hi Melissa…as I get older, time indeed does fly faster. But I find that I am making More time to do the things I enjoy…that mean something to me…to make memories with my family, my daughters and granddaughter. I loved all the quotes..a wonderful blog post my friend!
    Blessings, Autumn

  8. Wendy says:

    I’m just reading a book on time and our spatial perception of it, which has completley changed my relationship with time…The way our Western Culture measures time goes completly opposite how the natuarl and season cycle of time, which I believes sets us up for stress and not being true to ourselves or the Earth itself. Especially, when people take time “too literally” like the whole 2012 doom prophecy. Thank you for a beauitul and conscious post about re-imagining time and how we work with it, Melissa.

  9. Wendy says:

    By the way, here’s the blog link of Waverly Fitzgerald who is the one who wrote the book about re-imagining time. I think you’d really like her.
    http://www.livinginseason.com/waverly-blog/walking-tempo/

  10. Matthew says:

    One of my college professors always said to students, who complained that the weekends were never long enough, “Sit in a completely dark closest the entire weekend with noise reducing headphones. Then tell me how ‘short’ your weekend was.”

Share your thoughts

