Sunday Snapshots – Milo

Milo is my baby:)  I’ve known him since he was a few months old…he was a barn cat at a farm where my sisters worked.  When he was just under a year old he decided that he no longer wanted to be a barn cat–he wanted to live with us.  From that point on, he would strategically hide in the backseat of my sisters’ car and pray to remain unnoticed until they/we (I sometimes went with them) got home.  After many nights of turning the car around and going back to drop him off, we finally said screw it–kept driving and the rest is history….  [History being that we called Milo’s owners the next day…explained that he’d snuck in the car and come home with us and they told us to keep him.  Two years later, after I finished college and moved out, I took him with me and we’ve been together ever since…]

My boy 🙂
Snoozing away….
“Mama-you woke me up!”
Snug as a bug…on a quilt…
Checking out the snow at our old house…
“Can you find the best present under the tree?”
“I caught a fish!”
Playing some more…
Lounging in the sun

What a Beauty!!!!

After over 15 years together, I love this boy more than words can say…he’s been with me through good times and bad…my one constant.  He never fails to listen and though he rarely gives advice…he always makes me feel better.

Do any of you have animal companions who have brought something wonderful to your lives?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Sunday Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Snapshots – Milo

  1. Vixter2010 says:

    Ah bless him! My cat died couple of years ago after about 13 years with him, ah miss him!

  2. OH! He is adorable! He looks exactly like my cat, Cujo (my brothers named him, not me!) We got him when I was only 10. He was the most amazing cat, I swear he had an old soul, very wise. I think I even have the same Xmas tree pic of him under the tree as you. 🙂 I’ve had a few cats in my time but Cujo was special. Something about tabby cats!

  3. Andrea says:

    Your Milo is very handsome indeed! When i was growing up we lived in a place that did not allow dogs, so we always had a cat. As soon as i moved to a place that allowed dogs, i adopted one from the shelter and have never looked back. I love having a dog to take for a walk and snuggle up and watch TV with. The worst thing about pets is that you will probably outlive them and then you have to go thru the process of letting go and grieving which really sucks. But while they are with us, they bring great joy.

    • First off…good for you for getting your baby from the shelter! I certainly see the appeal of dogs (my sisters each have two) but I think I’ll forever be a cat person. They snuggle up with me on the couch, but I don’t have to worry about racing home from work to let them out or getting a dog sitter for vacations.

  4. Souzapalooza says:

    I have a water turtle, granted she isn’t cuddly and doesn’t like to be to far from her tank, but she is great company and is a wonderful listener!

  5. Milo looks very wise and handsome and that’s a lovely story about how he adopted you.

    As an adult, I haven’t lived in places that allowed animals but neighbors pets usually really like me and I get asked to pet sit occasionally. When I move on, it’s the cats and dogs I miss more than the humans.

  6. Joss says:

    He is simply gorgeous. How lovely that he chose you and has brought you so much joy and comfort!

  7. I love that last picture of him laying the sun. You got some great shots!
    ~Kimberlee, http://www.TheSpunkyDiva.com

  8. What a wonderful post! Animals always have such an impact on a person. Once you let them into your family, there’s nothing you can do besides love them with your whole heart.

    Thanks for making my heart smile.

  9. I grew up in a dog family, but when my boyfriend’s family found a 2 week old kitten purposely left at their doorstep, I turned into a total cat person. They graciously gave the kitten to us, and I refer to him as my cat-child. He loves to snuggle up in my lap and just stare at me and purr.
    How lucky you are to have such a wonderful cat to light up your life.

  10. I love Cats and Dogs. Having had both through the years, your pet is like your best friend in so many ways. You are so lucky to have him. Treasure him.

  11. OMG, your kitty is sooo adorable =)))

Share your thoughts

