Wishcasting Wednesday: Taking a Stand (or Are bananas really just bananas?)

The other day I overheard two coworkers discussing the cost of bananas.  They were dumbfounded by the fact that organic bananas were one third again as expensive as conventional…and they were discussing the incredibly low prices at a discount store as compared to the regular supermarket.  Both agreed that they’d go to get the cheapest bananas that evening:  As one stated, “Bananas are bananas!”

I of course, walking by, kept my mouth shut…as too often I do.  Afraid to speak up for what I think and feel.  Afraid to be wrong.  Afraid that I won’t have the facts prepared to back my opinions.  Afraid that people would think I was a hypocrite, because to be honest, I’d just purchased bananas at that same discount store the prior week. Afraid that people will think that I am the difficult/crazy “tree hugger.”

But I knew…All bananas are not created equal.  There are dire consequences building exponentially from our use of pesticides in food production, from our insistence on creating a monoculture by not only planting only one type of plant on each farm but limiting that even further to only one species of that plant.  These consequences affect not only the consumer, but also the environments in which these plants are grown as well as the workers instrumental in their growth and distribution.

Per What’s on my Food: Twelve pesticide residues have been found to be present on conventional bananas by the USDA Pesticide Data Program-many with known carcinogenic properties as well as hormone disruptors and neurotoxins.  We can make a difference though.  In the book What Are People For? ,Wendell Berry argues that “eating is a political act”.  We vote with our dollar every day…is it really worth voting for conventional produce to save 20 cents a pound?? Isn’t the cost to the environment, the workers, and our health going to tally up to a whole lot more than that??

I believe so…and I should have spoken up at the time and on every other occasion where my heart prompted me to do so.  Despite my fear of being wrong.  Despite my fear that I won’t have the facts prepared to back my opinions.  Despite my fear that people would think I was a hypocrite–no one is perfect–least of all me.  Despite my fear that people will think that I am the difficult/crazy “tree hugger.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I think the environment should be put in the category of our national security.  Defense of our resources is just as important as defense abroad.  Otherwise what is there to defend?”  ~~ Robert Redford

“Our task must be to free ourselves by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature and its beauty.” ~~ Albert Einstein

“We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.”  ~~ Native American Proverb

“I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority.”  ~~ E B White

“We could have saved the Earth but we were too damned cheap.”  ~~ Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today and every day: I wish to take a stand for Mother Earth. Won’t you join me?


And I am proud to be a tree hugger!

Further resources on bananas:

Rainforest Relief

Why Bananas are a Parable For Our Times – Huffington Post

I am participating in Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting Wednesdays

Today’s question: What do you wish to take a stand for?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Green Living/Vegetarianism, Nature, Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: Taking a Stand (or Are bananas really just bananas?)

  1. Matthew says:

    First, I do have to say I’m a ‘a banana is just a banana’ side purely because I like to live on the edge. 😉 I consider it a way for the body to build up natural immunities to our man-made toxins.

    All kidding aside, I get regular e-mails from the NDRC (go Redford!) and the thing I follow the most are the wolf habitats and population.

    Recently some wolf habitats were taken off the endangered species list (regionally) and thus opening up hunting on these packs. What’s the point of this? I understand the human want/need for population control over “lesser” species but seriously. Remove an animal from the endangered list so people can hunt to then only place them on the endangered list again?

    • We all have to pick our battles and figure out where we can afford to spend our time and money…I think that is what makes it so hard for many. I know how overwhelmed and guilty I get sometimes for feeling that I am not doing enough…I fear that is what prompts so many to instead do nothing.

      And yes…I’d heard about the wolves:( It’s insanity really. People are so hell bent on control that they care not for the consequences and instead end up in detrimental never-ending loops of insanity.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I think it’s great you’re passionate about this and we do all need to do more! I don’t like bananas luckily 🙂

  3. Camilla says:

    Speaking up when you have something to say and taking a stand for Mother Earth is a brave and admirable action.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  4. suzicate says:

    Thank you for speaking up on your blog. I often don’t think of these issues…I grew up in the country and ate organic before it was considered “organic”. I still buy much fresh produce from local farmers. I think it tastes better, and I feel good about buying local and helping the little guy. (though I realize some do use pestisides) I don’t spend enough time thinking about other consequences. I do weight options on most issues…someday I’ll post about my father being a lumberjack…while many consider me to be a treehugger, I also know the benefits of wood on our lives, and the responsibilty of replanting etc….My father also managed an apple orchards so I know the importance of protecting the crops, but also the dangers of pesticides. I usually try to see both sides of situations and not be judgmental as I know we all have our reasons for doing what we do whether we agree on them or not. I think Vix’s stance was a good one! I also think you are brave to speak up…I often stay silent even if I am passionate about something…and remaining silent does not bring about change.

    • You definitely have a great point about looking at both sides of an issue…as they say…the truth usually lies somewhere in between. And it is definitely not always easy to find said truth amidst all the judgementalism, defensiveness, and propaganda!

  5. Donna says:

    Woohoo! What a wish! And I LOVE those quotes. As you wish for yourself, and for Mother Earth, I wholeheartedly wish also! xx

  6. reikiflower says:

    i’m glad you did find a place to speak up! always a good step to taking it to the live audience 😉 you are good!

    as you wish, i also wish for you ❤ g!

  7. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also. Each of us can make a difference by making choices that are healthy for us, our families, the community, and yes Mother Earth. Cheers to standing up for what you believe in. You are not alone!

  8. April Cole says:

    We have a better “quality” of life, when we make healthy life changes!
    Great wishes…
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well. :]
    High-five to “quality”

  9. Grace says:

    From one Tree Huger to another, from one woman who’s trying very hard to be 100% congruent in her “consumerism” practices and her “beliefs”, to another, RIGHT ON!

    As you wish for yourself I wish for you as well.

  10. Ginny says:

    This was a great wish. It was very well written and I could feel the passion in your voice. As you wish for yourself and mother earth, I wish for you as well.

  11. Jacs says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you too.

  12. Lucy says:

    Great wish about Mother Earth. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  13. Bev Baird says:

    Standing up fpr our Earth is something we all must do – altho it may be too late. The floods, earthquakes, change in weather are all effecting us now. Great wish!
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  14. Joss says:

    one thing my mother taught me “don’t worry about what people think of you. chances are, they are not thinking about YOU at all.”

  15. I only eat organic bananas. Conventional bananas, because of the pesticides, make me very itchy. I don’t want to be itchy and it creeps me out that it’s a ton of toxic chemicals on my “natural” food that it causing me discomfort.
    Organic bananas all the way!

  16. Speaking up for what you believe in is empowering.
    As Melissa wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Share your thoughts

