Thankful Thursday – Dandelions

Thursday has come again and it’s been a beautiful week:)

And what may you ask am I thankful for today?  Today I’m thinking about Dandelions…

Seven more hours here at the office and then I’ll be heading home to work in my yard!  Most likely the boyfriend will be working on the lawn while I pot flowers.  See, we have this “problem” with our lawn–the “problem” is that we are overrun with dandelions.

If we had a large property in the country with meadows full of dandelions and wild flowers I’d be in heaven.  Unfortunately, we have a small lawn in the suburbs where one is required to keep the yard mown. And as we all know dandelions  grow 5 times as fast as the lawn.  And they multiply like crazy!

And it just isn’t practical to mow the lawn 3 times a week just to keep up with the dandelions…so unfortunately…they must go.  However that doesn’t mean that I can’t appreciate them before they go.

1. I’m thankful for the carefree memories of childhood that the dandelion brings back to me.

2. I am thankful for the reminder that wishes are as plentiful as a field full of dandelions.

3. I am thankful for the responsibility of having my own yard and lawn for which to care.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“The dandelion‘s pallid tube/ Astonishes the grass,/ And winter instantly becomes/ An infinite alas.” ~~ Emily Dickinson quotes

“A weed is but an unloved flower.”  ~~ Ella Wheeler Wilcox

“But a weed is simply a plant that wants to grow where people want something else.  In blaming nature, people mistake the culprit.  Weeds are people’s idea, not nature’s.” ~~ Author Unknown

Weeds are nature’s graffiti.” ~~ Janice Maeditere

“No creature is fully itself till it is, like the dandelion, opened in the bloom of pure relationship to the sun, the entire living cosmos.” ~~  D.H. Lawrence

“It gives one a sudden start in going down a barren, stony street, to see upon a narrow strip of grass, just within the iron fence, the radiant dandelion, shining in the grass, like a spark dropped from the sun.” ~~ Henry Ward Beecher

“If dandelions were rare and fragile, people would knock themselves out to pay $14.95 a plant, raise them by hand in greenhouses, and form dandelion societies and all that. But they are everywhere and don’t need us and kind of do what they please. So we call them “weeds,” and murder them at every opportunity. Well, I say they are flowers, by God, and pretty damn fine flowers at that.” ~~ Robert Fulghum

“I have decided that the real American Beauty isn’t the rose but the dandelion. The common dandelion is not a native American. Like most of our ancestors, it didn’t travel first class, and there is no record of its arrival on our shores. All we know is that it seems to have come from Europe, and like those “huddled masses” who sought a better life in a newer world, the dandelion put down roots and thrived.” ~~ Samuel Pickering, Jr.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are you thankful for this Thursday??


About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Green Living/Vegetarianism, Nature, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Dandelions

  1. Thank you for this post, Melissa. Dandelions take me back to childhood as well. It was nice to have a reason to stop and think of them. Have a great day.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I’m not feeling that thankful as I have a horrible cold so I’m looking forward to the end of the week but great post, shame they’re so troublesome.

  3. Great post, Melissa!

    I am thankful for the single, long stemmed dandelion my 5 yr old son gave me yesterday. He said, ‘Mommy, this dandelion is beautiful just like you!’

    I am thankful that on Mother’s Day my 7 yr old daughter picked a bouquet of flowers (from the neighbour’s rock garden). She told me, “He said they are weeds, but I think they’re beautiful. Happy Mother’s Day.”

    I am thankful that my kids see the beauty in a flower – any flower – and they are true in their intentions when giving them away freely. They are not thinking of themselves, but of the recipient. And I’m thankful that I am usually the recipient! 🙂

  4. I have an acre, I have HUNDREDS of them, and right now it is still raining so much my lawn is wayyy to long. Hoping for sun this weekend to take care of it all 🙂

  5. susannye says:

    M. – before they get big and tough – pick the leaves for a nice dandelion salad! Enjoy your yard … Susan

  6. Julie M says:

    I’m thankful to have time to sit and read a blog that makes me smile and remember to slow down and enjoy the small things. I love your quotes. My son, Cole, picks me a bunch of bright yellow dandelions everyday. To him they are just pretty flowers that keep coming back just for him to pick for me! He is so proud when he hands me the just picked bunch! So I will keep my “weeds” as long as they will stay.

    • What a sweet boy:) You are lucky Julie!! It just goes to show that everything is in the eye of the beholder. I wish that I could keep my “weeds” as well! If only they grew at the same rate as the lawn and didn’t appear to be an eyesore to the township!

  7. I love reading your “Thankful Thursday” posts! My daughter and I were just making wishes on dandelions the other day in the park. She loved watching all of the little white fluffy pieces flutter away into the sky. Simple pleasures. 🙂

  8. What a great post! I admire your ability to take something that most find annoying and be thankful for it.

  9. Joss says:

    Nova Scotia has so many dandelions I’m always surprised someone hasn’t begun an industry! In another week or so the fields between here and town will be covered in yellow. Acres and acres of dandelions.
    Love the quote by Fulgrum.
    walk in beauty – surrounded by dandelions and memories of childhood.

  10. A great post Melissa. I’m a fan of dandelions and especially enjoy seeing them growing through sidewalk cracks although I rarely dare admit that out loud.

  11. What a lovely post, Melissa! Every spring, my daughter and I put one of her little baby dolls in her little stroller and we walk down the dirt road behind our house to pick dandelions. Then we bring them inside and pop them in little vases. Such a relaxing sweet ritual for us. 🙂

Share your thoughts

