Thankful Thursday – Thankfulness is such a simple thing…

Definition of THANKFUL:

1: conscious of benefit received
2: expressive of thanks
3: well pleased : glad
(from: Merriam-Webster.com)
 

 Benefits of being THANKFUL:

Recent academic studies have shown:
  • People who describe themselves as feeling grateful to others and either to God or to creation in general tend to have higher vitality and more optimism, suffer less stress, and experience fewer episodes of clinical depression than the population as a whole. These results hold even when researchers factor out such things as age, health, and income, equalizing for the fact that the young, the well-to-do, or the hale and hearty might have “more to be grateful for.”
  • Grateful people tend to be less materialistic than the population as a whole and to suffer less anxiety about status or the accumulation of possessions. Partly because of this, they are more likely to describe themselves as happy or satisfied in life.
  • In an experiment with college students, those who kept a “gratitude journal,” a weekly record of things they should feel grateful for, achieved better physical health, were more optimistic, exercised more regularly, and described themselves as happier than a control group of students who kept no journals but had the same overall measures of health, optimism, and exercise when the experiment began. (Researchers use frequency of exercise as a barometer for general well-being because it is an objective measure that links to subjective qualities; people who exercise three or more times per week tend to have better indicators of well-being, even when health conditions that affect the ability to exercise are factored out.)
  • Grateful people are more spiritually aware and more likely to appreciate the interconnectedness of all life, regardless of whether they belong to specific religions.
(From: Rx for Life: Gratitude)
So simple isn’t it?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thankfulness Quotes

I’m thankful for all the things that this job has given me and my family. But probably the thing that I am most proud of throughout my career is that, not only myself, but my family and the people around me have just been regular people, which we are. ~~Brett Favre
I am thankful I can see much to admire in all religions. ~~Alfred Russel Wallace
I’m thankful for every moment. ~~Al Green
I’m thankful that I have lived long enough to become a legend, and I hope I deserve it. ~~Ralph Stanley
I’m thankful to be breathing, on this side of the grass. Whatever comes, comes. ~~Ron Perlman
I’m very thankful to be doing what I’m doing. I feel very blessed. ~~Justin Timberlake
I’ve been very fortunate. I feel very thankful. I’ve been able to come home and do some fun things and make it exciting for people here at home. ~~Roger Clemens
And my personal favorite:
I am thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose. ~~Woody Allen
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I Am Thankful For …

–The partner who hogs the covers every night, because he is not out with someone else.
–The child who is not cleaning his room, but is watching TV, because that means he is at home and not on the streets.
–For the taxes I pay, because it means I’m employed.
–For the mess to clean after a party, because it means I have been surrounded by friends.
–For the clothes that fit a little too snug, because it means I have enough to eat.
–For my shadow that watches me work, because it means I am in the sunshine.
–For a lawn that needs mowing, windows that need cleaning and gutters that need fixing, because that means I have a home.
–For all the complaints I hear about the government, because it means we have freedom of speech.
–For the parking spot I find at the far end of the lot, because it means I am capable of walking and I have been blessed with a car.
–For my huge heating bill, because I am warm.
–For the lady behind me in church who sings off-key, because that means I can hear.
–For the pile of laundry and ironing, for it means I have clothes to wear.
–For weariness and aching muscles at the end of the day, for it means I have been capable of working hard.
–For the alarm that goes off in the early morning, because it means I am alive.
~~~~~~~Author Unknown

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I am thankful for the ability to be thankful…and all the benefits that it brings to my life.  How about you??

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Thankfulness is such a simple thing…

  1. Vixter2010 says:

    I think being able to count your blessings is really important and helps during the dark days!

  2. suzicate says:

    I truly think gratitude has a significant affect on attitude. I think most of us have more to be grateful for than we realize. Sometimes it’s the small things that are most important. Wonderful post!

  3. There are always so many things to be grateful for. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the things that aren’t working that we forget about the things that are working. Daily gratitudes work wonders.

  4. Gratitude is a force to be reckoned with (in the best way possible) and when you can feel it, hold on to it and then share that feeling with others and the Universe – well the results that can come from such an amazing form of energy are rather profound to say the least. :o)

    Great post as always! ♥

    ~L. :o)

  5. Joss says:

    We truly, each of us, have much to be thankful for. Keeping a gratitude journal is a wonderful idea. Imagine, looking back through that, ten years down the road and marveling at all you’ve had to be grateful for! Wonderful post.

  6. Wendy S. says:

    Every night, I thank Spirit for all the amazing blessings I have…I love your beautiful and simple ways of expressing what you’re thankful for, Melissa..Thank you : )
    Namaste

  7. Megan says:

    Being thankful for the everyday occurrences that can so very easily be looked over is a great thing! Love, love, love your Thankful Thursday posts. They always get me to thinking and remind me to be more mindful and THANKFUL for all that i have in my life and all that surrounds me! so THANK YOU!

  8. I love these two —
    –For the taxes I pay, because it means I’m employed.
    –For the mess to clean after a party, because it means I have been surrounded by friends.

    Although.. I often don’t enjoy watching all the taxes leave my paycheck! This is such a good way to look at it!

  9. Catherine says:

    Loved the I am thankful for list, great reminders. Especially “The partner who hogs the covers every night, because he is not out with someone else.” So true!

Share your thoughts

