Thankful Thursday – Family

Today I am thankful for Family.

******************************************************************************

Family:
1 a group of individuals living under one roof and usually under one head : household
2 – a group of persons of common ancestry : clan
3 – a group of people united by certain convictions or a common affiliation : fellowship
 
 Origin of FAMILY:
Middle English familie, from Latin familia household (including servants as well as kin of the householder), from famulus – servant
First Known Use: 15th century

 ******************************************************************************

I love the fact that the word family actually comes from the Latin for servant–that all members of a household were considered part of the family. 

We all have our own personal definitions for family. (Pets, friends, community may be included…) It may mean something different to each of us…  The bottom line though is that these are the people who we count on and who can count upon us.  We grow stronger together–the roots and history of the elders lending support to the youth just budding in life.

What a tremendous gift is Family.

 ******************************************************************************

Family Comes Together
-by Glaedr, the poet

Family comes together
For always and forever
In sickness and in health
In poverty or in wealth
Family comes together
For always and forever
Without any reason
Anytime or any season
Family comes together
For always and forever

In death or in life
In happiness or in strife
Family comes together
For always and forever
In anger or in kindness
Whether all seeing or in blindness
Family comes together
For always and forever
Whether for work or for play
They somehow find a way
For family to come together
Because families are forever
******************************************************************************

About two weeks ago my grandmother had a stroke which has left her paralyzed on her left side.  She’s currently still in the hospital in acute rehabilitation with the hopes that she may be able to regain some use of her left arm and leg.  The one light in this dark time is seeing how quickly the family has rallied together to support her and each other.  Family is a powerful gift. 

My grandmother knows this well and genealogy has been one of her many passions in life…

******************************************************************************

“The Family Tree” – Author  Unknown
I think that I shall never see, the finish of a family tree,
As it forever seems to grow, from roots that started long ago.
Way back in ancient history times, in foreign lands and distant climes,
From them grew trunk and branching limb, that dated back to times so dim,
One seldom knows exactly when, the parents met and married then;
Nor when the twigs began to grow, with odd named children row on row.
Though verse like this was made by me, the end’s in sight as you can see.
‘Tis not the same with family trees, that grow and grow through centuries.
 ~~~~~

The limbs that move, the eyes that see,
These are not entirely me;
Dead men and women helped to shape
The mold which I do not escape;
The words I speak, my written line,
These are not uniquely mine.
For in my heart and in my will
Old ancestors are warring still,
Celt,Roman, Saxon, and all the dead
From whose rich blood my veins are fed,
In aspect, gesture, voices, tone,
Flesh of my flesh, bone of my bone;
In fields they tilled I plow the sod,
I walk the mountain paths they trod;
And round my daily steps arise
The good and bad of those I comprise.

-by English author Richard Rolle, written over 600 years ago.

******************************************************************************

What are you thankful for this Thursday???

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thankful Thursday – Family

  1. Lovely post. Family is everything. I wish your grandmother a speedy recovery and she’s very blessed to have you and her family around to support her through this difficult time.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Best wishes to your grandmother! Family is really important and sometimes they’re the only people you can rely on!

  3. SuziCate says:

    What a lovely post. We too often don’t appreciate those relationships until they are gone.

  4. susannye says:

    Melissa – Lovely post. I share your love of family. All best wishes to your grandmother and a speedy recovery. I have so many fond memories of hanging out with my Nanas. Take care, Susan

  5. Sending lots of prayers and positive thoughts to you and your family, Melissa. I’m sure your grandmother feels very blessed to have all of you rallying for her. xoxo

  6. Joss says:

    lovely post. Your grandmother must be awfully proud of you.

  7. sweffling says:

    Sorry to hear of your Grandmother’s stroke and hope for a good, swift outcome for her. Positive waves coming your way.

    This Thursday I was thankful for Community: those serendipitous moments when you connect and find out how strangers can make a real difference.

  8. Catherine says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother. I hope she is able to recover and I’m so happy she has family like you to take care of her. I liked the definition “a group of persons of common ancestry : clan”… I want to start calling my family a clan. Reminds me of the closeness of a family 🙂

  9. I’m a BIG fan of grandmas. I hope yours is on the mend.

Share your thoughts

