Wishcasting Wednesday – Summer Dreams

Yesterday was the first day of summer for those of us in the northern hemisphere.  Happy Summer Solstice! I hope that everyone had a blessed first day of Summer, Solstice, Midsummer, Litha…or whatever you call it:)

Jamie Ridler aptly asks today: What do you wish for this Summer?

My answer is an easy one…I wish to spend more time getting my hands dirty outside and then even more time after that relaxing (perhaps with a nice glass of lemonade and a book) in my yard and enjoying my work!

I dream of having a gorgeous garden and I think that dreaming too big is probably holding me back.  I know that I don’t have much time, I know that I’ve not got a green thumb, and therefore I’ve done the bare minimum in lieu of the opposite extreme of going all out and failing or running out of time mid-project.

I need to stop and remind myself that “something is better than nothing” and that if I start small and do a little at a time…even the small improvements will make me happy and wish fulfilled:)

PS.  I promise to share the pictures of the tiny garden redo that we  did in the Spring with you all soon 🙂

I am participating in Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting Wednesdays. 

What do you wish for this Summer?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday – Summer Dreams

  1. April Cole says:

    What a lovely wish…
    I agree, “something is better, than nothing at all!”
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well. :]

  2. Ceanne says:

    As Melissa wishes for herself, so I truly wish for her!

  3. beejee23 says:

    Even one flower is a miracle. As you wish for yourself, I also wish for you.

  4. Grace says:

    Here’s to dirty hands! Gardening is SO fulfilling!! You’re very smart to keep it manageable in size – otherwise, the fun might go right out of it and it would feel to much like WORK! LOL

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  5. Wendy S. says:

    The journey of a thousand plants begins with one small seed ; ) I always say “dream big, but start little” may your summer wishes manifest in the most beautiful ways, Melissa..

  6. Carrie says:

    As a landscaper’s wife, I can tell you that you’ll be better off in the long run if you do start small and work a bit a time. If you go big all at once, you could be overwhelmed and it could be more work than pleasure and no one wants that. 😉

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  7. Happy first day of summer! Good wish I hope it comes true for you!

  8. Kim says:

    I need that “something is better than nothing” reminder, too! Thanks!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  9. Camilla says:

    Lemonade, books, and gardening. Sounds like heaven.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  10. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  11. Enjoy the process of getting the garden of your dreams. As Melissa wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  12. Joss says:

    happy first day of summer. the solstice is an amazing time of dreams and energy. One bit at a time and in years to come you’ll have the most awesome of gardens. Don’t forget to relax with lemonade and book in hand. That’s what summer days are for.
    walk in beauty.

  13. Bev says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  14. Maryannk says:

    That sounds really good , I just started reading a book again , its nice to take time for yourself , no one really has time anymore to read , so sad , so that will be nice indeed!

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

    Have a wonderful summer!

  15. Thank you all for the positive energy! I plan to work on both the gardening and the enjoying this weekend!

  16. stuffbysteph says:

    I hope that you are able to create the beautiful garden of your dreams!
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  17. Thanks for reminding me that doing SOMETHING is better than doing NOTHING at all. Whether it’s gardening, writing, or enjoying whatever hobby you have, you’ll eventually see the fruit of your efforts and it’ll make you smile.

  18. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

    eclairee-creative
    http://eclaircreative.canalblog.com

  19. Lucy says:

    Sounds like good summer wishes. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  20. You can do it! As Melissa wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  21. Sandy V says:

    One step at a time! Happy Summer! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

Share your thoughts

