Five Question Friday – 7/8/11

Happy Friday:)  I know I haven’t been around the blogosphere much these past few weeks!  Things have been quite a bit hectic both at work and in my personal life.  I have still been trying to keep up with all of your blogs and hopefully will catch up a bit this weekend:)  Here’s to a fun and relaxing weekend for all of us!

This week I’ve decided to  participate in Five Question Friday!

1. Do you think cursive writing is overrated? (Schools in Indiana have now voted to take teaching cursive writing out of their curriculum.)

I don’t know that I’d say it is overrated…but certainly not 100% necessary nowadays.  It’s certainly beautiful when done well and lovely in the context of handwritten letter etc…but…how prevalent are those these days? Do handwritten love letters even exist anymore??

I think it’s really just a sad commentary on how far into the industrialized/technical world we’ve moved and how far we are from the world of actually creating anything with our own hands.

2. Do you still use a pocket calendar or notepad or do you keep your info on your smart phone?

I no longer use a pocket calender-though I used to religiously from my college years until I was about 30.   Now I just use outlook reminders and my memory.  I don’t have nor do I feel the need to have a smart phone.


3. What 3 things would you save if your house was burning down? (family & pets are already safe)

I would grab my old photo albums (duh!), my backup hard drive (all my photos since 2000 and financial data, etc), and my keepsake boxes (personal mementos, letters, etc.)  As long as the people and animals are safe…everything else is replaceable!


4. Country Mouse or City Mouse, err Person?

I think I am some where in between but definitely leaning toward the country.  I live in suburbia now and even though I wish sometimes that it were a bit more rural…I can’t deny the convenience of having anything one needs within a 20min drive!

5. If you could pick ANY reality show to go on, which would you pick?

I’ve always secretly dreamed of being on The Amazing Race.  It’s really the only “Reality” television show that I watch (not counting HGTV or Sports)  All of those amazing locations, the team work, love it!    I actually met the season 9 winners BJ & Tyler when they were on vacation in my town–I lived in Salem, MA at the time.  It also confirmed my guess that they would win (the season was still airing) even though they refused to confirm anything ;p

My biggest fear, though,  would be getting a challenge that required eating something which I can’t eat.  (That’s the part of the show that I hate)

Which reality show would you like to be on???

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Five Question Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Five Question Friday – 7/8/11

  1. Linda says:

    Hi – Love your Kitty photos – I have a cat – Miss Kitty!

    Love all the photo accompaniments to your answers!

    Visiting via the blog hop! And am your Newest Follower!

    Best Wishes,

    Linda

  2. I’d like to be on the Kardashian’s show, I’m hooked even though I can’t explain why 🙂

  3. Matthew says:

    A group of my friends want me to audition for ‘Survivor’, and my family thinks that my brother-in-law and I would be entertaining to watch on ‘The Amazing Race’ given his dry but innocent humor and my…well…being just weird.

    However, I’d like to possibly be on Next Food Network Star. (though I know I’d get smoked).

  4. Joss says:

    As a reality show, I would pick Dancing with the Stars. I guess I’ll have to become a star though first. 🙂

  5. Tracy says:

    I think they were a wonderful team. Although he wasn’t too smart when he ran to the finish line without shoes and they lost everything that they weren’t wearing and had to borrow flipflips from another team.

  6. Lisa says:

    Sometimes I dream of being on those cooking reality shows but I know they would force me to cook a meat-based dish and I would lose.

  7. sterlingsop says:

    I’d like to be on a home makeover show – and Ty Pennington would be an added bonus! 🙂

  8. Catherine says:

    Love the 5 question Friday. For my reality show, I’d pick the Bachelor. Okay, not really to find love, but it looks like such a fun experience 🙂

  9. Chelsea says:

    Thanks for stopping by A Simple Life today! 🙂 Apparently we have a love for Amazing Race in common. 🙂

  10. Wendy S. says:

    My mother used to have the most beautiful cursive writing, mine looks like a Dr.’s ; ) I think you and I are both country kitties rather than country “mice” yes? As for “The Amazing Race”, I love watching it, but talk about cojones. Are you watching “Extreme Race”? I think that’s what it’s called…There is one guy there on it (a competitor) who I have the biggest crush on. And as far as what reality show I’d be on. Something to do with witch’s, cats and being stark raving mad, perhaps? lol…

    • I like that…country kitties:) And I think you may be talking abut Expedition Impossible:Morocco (I just looked it up) I saw the 1st episode…but haven’t really had time to watch more. It did look good from what I saw though…And now I am dying to know which guy it is that you have the crush on ;p

Share your thoughts

