Thankful Thursday – An Hour in the Life of a Spoiled Woman

When did I become so spoiled?  I realize that it is something that has slowly but surely crept upon me this past decade or so…  And I am ashamed.

I left my office today, walked through the halls of my company and left the building to take my lunch hour.  I realize that I took for granted the fact that I have a job that adequately pays my bills and even affords me my own office with a sunny window from which to work.

I jumped into my car and drove to Target.  I realize that I took for granted the fact that I have not only a reliable car but also the funds to pay for gas and insurance to keep it on the road.  I also took for granted the fact that I live in an area of the world where all of our material needs can be met within a few moments drive.

I couldn’t find a parking spot close to the doors and settled for a spot several rows and some distance away and made my way into the store.  I realize that I took for granted the fact that I could jog with no problem the short distance from my car to the door.

I wondered the electronics department until I found a set of ear buds  that I liked.  I realize that I took for granted the fact that I own an Mp3 player and that I don’t have to think twice about spending the $10 to replace the over-sized ear buds that came with it.

I went to the register, pulled out my wallet to pay and in the process discovered four “thummies” (small crown-like finger “puppets”) that my niece must have made and slipped into my purse when I was babysitting last Friday. I realize that I took for granted  my beautiful nieces and nephews and how much they love me.

I proceeded to the food court section and picked up a pack of breadsticks and asked the girl to make it a combo.  I filled the cup that she gave me with Coke and proceeded to sit at a table to eat my lunch. I realize that I took for granted how easy it was to obtain food served in disposable/wasteful containers.

I pulled out my cell phone and set the alarm so that it would vibrate and let me know when it was time to head back to work.  I then got my Nook out of my bag and proceeded to read a few pages of the latest book that I’d downloaded.  I realize that I took for granted access to so many electronics, access to electricity to power them, access to books, and the ability to read them.

When my alarm sounded, I packed up my belongings and headed back to my office.  As I entered the lobby, regretting the fact that I had to go back to work, I asked myself….When did I get so spoiled??

Are you spoiled too?

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thankful Thursday – An Hour in the Life of a Spoiled Woman

  1. suzicate says:

    I think most of us take our daily routines for granted though we indeed are blessed.

  2. Patricia says:

    Yes! Spoiled rotten—but I don’t smell bad…

  3. carlaat says:

    Beautiful post. So much to be thankful for, every moment. 🙂

  4. Great post. To me, the key to life is to appreciate the simple things we all have each day! 🙂

  5. Tori Nelson says:

    I was at home, spending the day with my son like usual, complaining about wanting more “me time”. I needed to kick myself. My day-to-day life is some kind of brilliant, nothing to complain about!

  6. Mary the OINKteller says:

    We all have so much to be thankful for… and you’re right: some of us are truly spoiled. We shouldn’t take our blessings for granted. I know that I forget sometimes how lucky I truly am. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. spoiled rotten aren’t we? it’s good to pause, once in a while and realize how much we each have to be grateful for – every day.

  8. Nicole says:

    This is SO true! We really are so spoiled and take things for granted!! Thank you for reminding me to be thankful. 🙂

  9. It’s nice to remember our blessings and how lucky we are as our day-to-day life can become so hectic.

Share your thoughts

