Until We Meet Again, My Angel

As many of you know this has been a very difficult few weeks/months for our house since my companion of 16 years, my heart, my Milo was diagnosed with cancer.  He was the one constant light in my life for all of my adult years.  No matter what I was going through…all the good and all the bad…I knew that I had only to return home and I would have his love and pureness of spirit to wash over me and heal me.  He’d beg for more food everytime I stepped foot in the kitchen, follow me from room to room and hang out with me while I did my housework, meet me at the door when I returned from work, sit on my lap while I read or watched evening programming, curl up on my side while we slept at night, and in his every action show me that he loved me as much as I loved him.

As of early yesterday morning…he is now my precious angel.  I know that a light like his…so bright and pure…so filled with love…can never burn out.  Though Mother Earth may now begin to reclaim his body…his light still shines brightly to watch out over all of us – And all of us who love him so will forever hold a part of that flame in our hearts.

Here are some pictures of him enjoying our Christmas tree this past holiday season.
Mama’s Babydoll…I will love you forever.
About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Until We Meet Again, My Angel

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Melissa. My eyes are filled with tears because I know how heartbreaking it is to lose a pet baby. May your precious Milo rest in peace, and may you enjoy all of the wonderful memories he gave you. Lots of hugs to you. xoxo

  2. greycatsidhe says:

    I know what it’s like to lose a beloved companion to cancer. My cat Muffin (I had him since I was 8) passed away two days after I got married. It was such a hectic time and it was a very bitter sweet way to end the weekend. I knew he was suffering, though… Like you, I feel strongly that our companions continue on in the Otherworld and that we meet again. I pray that you find peace and that your loved one guides you from the Otherworld!

  3. suzicate says:

    I’m so sorry. Our pets become members of our families and it hurts terribly to lose them.

  4. Sadness for you. Our pets creep into our heart and stay snugly there forever.

  5. Patricia says:

    So sorry for your loss of Milo. It is wonderful when we bless a creature with food, shelter, and love and are blessed in return with their love and loyalty.

  6. I’m very sorry for your loss! 😦

  7. Wendy S. says:

    I cried reading about Milo, as you know I love my girls with all my heart and soul and know how devastated you must be feeling. I was just asking a “cat lady” friend, how do you prepare to say goodbye, and there’s really no way and when we do let them go, there’s no letting go, there’s just letting be. Grieving and inconsolable…I am so sorry Melissa and wish I had a balm that would ease your heart and soul. My prayers go out to you for some sweetness in the memories of Milo, some strength and courage throug this darkness and an angels touch on your heart. I am just so sorry….You gave him the best Christmas ever and I know he will never be forgotten and he will never forget you as he waits over the Rainbow Bridge for you.

  8. Hi Melissa. I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a cat – especially one like Milo who’s been your companion for all your adult life – is hard. When I lost my cat last year, it was months before I could think of her without crying. Hang in there and be gentle with yourself.

  9. carlaat says:

    So very sorry for your loss. What a lucky sweet kitty to have had so much time with you. And likewise you with him. Many hugs to you, Melissa.

  10. Thank you all so much for your kind thoughts and words while I go through this very difficult time…

  11. Phoenix519 says:

    Hi Melissa. I understand from Wendy at The Year of the Cats that your baby Milo has crossed over. I am so very sorry for your loss. I can sympathize with you because I lost my 18 year old baby, Topaz, four years ago. I can only promise you that one day you will think of Milo and smile first, not cry first. I am sure that’s not a great deal of comfort now, but I hope in some small way it may assist you in transitioning through this sorrowful time. If it helps at all, know that I am asking all of my darling babies who are over there to greet Milo and help him settle in.

  12. Melissa – while I am just learning of your blog from Wendy, I am profoundly saddened at your loss and deeply moved by the very touching and heartfelt tribute you wrote for Milo. Some of our pets are taking too quickly, and some are with us a lifetime. No matter how long it is, it is never enough, but we must always be grateful for the enormous love and companioship we are graced with for what ever amount of time.

    Milo was a very special kitty and I thank you for sharing his story with us. Blessings to you and I will keep you in my thoughts.

  13. N B says:

    Aww… I am so sorry for your loss. Having lost a furbaby to Lukemia a few years ago, I know how you feel. Love, Prayers, Good Thoughts, and Best Wishes to you, my friend.
    ~N

  14. Lisa says:

    My heart is breaking for you. I can’t imagine your pain. My thoughts are with you and your Milo. The loving bond of a cat and his person is unmatched.

  15. sweffling says:

    Just popped in to catch up and am so saddened by your sad news: illness in the family and the loss of your dear Milo. These companions of many years are so precious: a part of our life goes when they go. I once read that women bring life into the world and are the best at helping life out of the world. I am sure that you gave Milo a wonderful life and that you were brave and kind at the end, and prevented his suffering by easing his way home. So strange that to love we also have to suffer loss and pain. But we would not forego the love would we? Sympathy and good wishes winging their way to you.

  16. cat. says:

    Just stumbled upon your beautiful blog post … Tears and sincere sympathy … Love, cat. (http://catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/)

  17. Catherine says:

    Just now seeing this…. so sorry for your loss. What a wonderful long life to have tho. Hope you are well!

Share your thoughts

