Practical Magic – Finding the Magic in Every Day

In honor of the Practical Magic Blog Party, I’m just going to talk off the cuff today about several ways to find and appreciate the magic in everyday life.  Too often we get caught up in living day to day and forget to live for all of the small magical moments that are either right there in front of us…or are incredibly easy to “make” happen.  So here are just a few ways that I plan to live a more magical life!  I encourage all of you to join me!!

1.  Make a wish upon a shooting star.  Remember the magic and hope of childhood?  Allow yourself to recapture it!

2. Drink a cup of tea, relax and meditate.  Connect with your inner self.

3.  Take a walk and look around you at all the magic in your own neighborhood…the newly blossomed flowers, the rabbit munching on the clover in the lawn, the morning dew on the leaves…experience it all anew.

4.  Follow your intuition.  Don’t ignore that little voice within…let it speak and listen.  We are all wiser than we think.

5.  Engage in random acts of kindness and see how the magic spreads.  Buy a dozen flowers and give them out to strangers on the street.

6.  Plant a seedling  and watch it grow day after day and year after year into a tree and admire the magic of Mother Nature.

7.  Start an herb garden even if it’s just a few pots on your kitchen windowsill.  You can use the herbs while cooking or to prepare home remedies or toiletries…or just enjoy the wonderful and magical aromas that they impart.

8.  Volunteer within your community and bring magic into another’s life.

9. Widen your circle.  Get to know your neighbors – make some pumpkin bread and go introduce yourself.

Pumpkin Bread recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups shredded fresh pumpkin
  • 1 cup toasted pumpkin seeds

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Sift the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.

In a separate bowl, mix the sugar, vegetable oil, eggs, and vanilla. Combine both mixtures and fold in the shredded pumpkin and pumpkin seeds. Once the ingredients are all incorporated pour into a non- stick 9 by 5 by 3-inch loaf pan. If your pan is not non- stick coat it with butter and flour.

Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. At this point a knife inserted into the middle of the loaf should come out clean. Cool for 15 minutes and turn out onto a cooling rack. Cool completely. For muffins temperature should also be 325 degrees F., but bake for 30 minutes

10.  Take a magical bath.  Use lavender in the bath and let your cares fade away into the sunset…

Lavender Sugar Scrub

  • ½ cup jojoba oil
  • ¾ cup of  sugar
  • 6 drops of lavender essential oil
  • Bunch of finely chopped fresh lavender and flowers

Mix and enjoy!

And remember:   There’s a little witch in all of us!

Visit the Practical Magic Party 2011 site to see a list of all the other participants!

Image Credits
Lilac Field: Image: prozac1 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Tea:Image: Piyachok Thawornmat / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Rabbit:Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Flowers:Image: Rosen Georgiev / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Seedling:Image: criminalatt / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Shooting star:Image: Exsodus / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Practical Magic – Finding the Magic in Every Day

  1. what a great post to start my weekend with. Lovely and magical ideas.

  2. suzicate says:

    A lovely post. Thanks for the reminder. Yesterday I promised myself to slow down for today…I’ve vowed to stay in my jammies today…no housework (do that tomorrow)…but today I am going to just be. I’m going to be still, listen for that small voice, and enjoy the magic of life.

  3. Birgit says:

    Melissa — what a perfect post! I would like to add # 11 — walk around in Blogland and feel the magic of people meeting from all over the world. 🙂

    Magical Times,
    Birgit

  4. I loved this post. All things that I need to remind myself to do more!

  5. Thank you for sharing your thoughts..all of which are golden. We all need to slow down a bit andrelax. The world moves to fast. Please visit my party:
    momentsinaneye.blogspot.com

  6. Ms Lilypads says:

    It was a joy to visit your posts. There seem to be plenty of rabbits in this part of town, and may I say how much I love tea!

  7. Theresa says:

    What a lovely post! Thank you so much. It was, quite simply, perfect. 🙂 And I enjoyed your book review of Practical Magic, as well. It is amazing how different the book and the film are – but they both stand out on their own quite well. 🙂 Enjoy the Practical Magic festivities! Please feel free to come and visit with me, too. 🙂
    http://faeriemooncreations.blogspot.com/2011/09/practical-magic-blog-party-2011.html
    Sincerely, Theresa

  8. Our hearts and eyes are what bring magic to the world, aren’t they? Thanks for sharing your magic!

  9. lisa skiles says:

    What a special post – I enjoyed it immensely and will attempt to heed your magical advice 🙂
    Hope you can stop by my enchanted oven for PM cookies.
    Hugs,
    Lisa

  10. Willow says:

    Loved your post and the party. Will come back and read more here.

  11. Tamara says:

    Magick is all around us…in what we see, hear, smell and touch. Your post was a wonderful reminder and I truly enjoyed it. Thank you 🙂

  12. Celia says:

    I LOVE your post…..magical…..it is all around us….we just have to be aware.

  13. Susan G says:

    WONDERFUL POST! so very true. 🙂
    BB,
    Susan

  14. Karen says:

    Wonderful recommendations !! We all need to focus and not let the worries and cares hold sway over our lives…
    Magic Happens !! We just need to be aware.
    Bless,
    Karen

  15. Moncha says:

    Those are great tips. I must say I use a lot of them already, but there is always room for improvement ; )
    Thank you for the wonderful recipes.
    Have a amgical day.

  16. Edie says:

    Lovely blog and a lovely post thank you for all the recipes. Have an enchanted weekend

  17. Thank you for the recipes I love collecting new ones 🙂 I really believe there is magic around every day if we chose to look for it. Thanks for an enchanting post.

    frith
    J x

  18. Rae says:

    Love your post! I think it is so important to connect with your inner innocence and to pamper ourselves. Thank you greatly for the recipes. I will tuck them way for a day of pampering. 🙂

    Rae

    Practical Magic by Moonlight

  19. Victoria says:

    What a lovely post! I agree, to see the magic that surrounds all of us all of the time we have to be willing to open, really OPEN, our eyes and our hearts; only then will we see. Your recipe for pumpkin bread has made me hungry!

    Blessings,

    Victoria from Brushstrokes

  20. Hello, I am visiting form the Practical Magic Blog party. 😀 Super post. What great advice for everyday magic! Thanks for including the recipes in your post, too.

  21. Tina says:

    What a beautiful post…I love that you have given hints on finding the magic in the everyday…something I live by! Thankyou for the recipe also – must give it a try. Lovely to connect x

  22. Lady Jess says:

    I will most definitely be using those recipes soon! Thanks for sharing!

  23. Bird says:

    Bright blessings, Melissa,
    What a very lovely post and a fabulously great way to celebrate the PM party. I enjoy doing may of the things you’ve listed here, though I must admit I have never bought flowers and given them to strangers. That is such a pleasant idea. Thank you for the calming and happy post and recipes.
    Bright Autumn Blessings,
    Bird

  24. Mary the OINKteller says:

    Very nice! Thanks for these reminders and for the recipes. I need to take more moments to appreciate the magic that weaves the fabric of my life. And I will.

  25. I love these ideas…and they are great reminders!

    On a side note, the kitty in your header kind of looks like my Annabelle (and thank you for stopping by!)

  26. ~Que Bella~ says:

    All good and lovely advice! That pumpkin bread looks incredibly yummy… I’ll definitely have to try out your recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  27. Wizardess says:

    Excellent ideas! If you win my “Aunt Jet’s Lavender Oil” you can drop a few drips in your bath. 🙂

  28. What nice sentiments, and good ideas as we enter the giving season. 🙂 And you even included a pumpkin bread recipe! I’ll have to try it.

  29. dena miller says:

    Great Post Melissa,
    It seems as if you and I were on the same train of thought♥

  30. Annalee says:

    Cute post! I love that you listed ways that you can have an even more magical life. How positive and inspiring!
    xo
    Annalee

  31. What a wonderful post Melissa! It is so essential to remember and connect with the magic in our everyday lives…hence Practical Magic! And the pumpkin bread sound delicious, I will definitely have to bake it!

    Thank you so much and blessings!
    Marissa Moondaughter

  32. Lisa says:

    I love the message. We do need to pause for the magic everyday!

    Blessings, Lisa

  33. Catherine says:

    Love this post! The bunny was cute 🙂

Share your thoughts