Random Ramblings? Nay, Versatility!! An Award

On Saturday, I woke up…checked my messages and found a wonderful surprise in my inbox….Megan over at Maggie Mae’s Days had passed this award on to me.   It’s my very first and it’s means a lot to know that a fellow blogger whose posts I enjoy so much…feels the same!  Thanks so much Megan!  It’s also great to know that there’s actually a word for my random ramblings…the word is “Versatile!”  Woohoo!

Apparently there are rules that go along with this award…not sure that I am too keen on that idea…but with a tad of tweaking…this is what I have come up with:

  • Thank the person who gave you the award and link the blog back to them
  • Tell us 7 things about yourself
  • Pass the award to 7 bloggers
  • Contact the bloggers to let them know they’ve received the award

I in no way expect rule following from any of those to whom I pass this award.  It’s up to you…feel free to simply bask in my adoration or make up your own version of “the rules”:)

So 7 things about myself…hmmm…

1.  Reading is my first love…my mother taught me to read in kindergarten with Nancy Drew books and I read them all through grammar school…along with a myriad of other books.  And probably stemming from my early love of the written word, as a child I used to dream of being a Journalist or a Writer.  (Or a Veterinarian , or a Detective, or a ….)  I suppose that this blog is my small way of fulfilling that dream.

2.  I’ve been a vegetarian for 20 years this Autumn.  It started as a merely ethical choice when I was a teenager and is now backed up by environmental & socio-economic concerns.  (I get a physical and blood work up at least every two years and no doctor has ever found me to be anything other than perfectly healthy)

3.  I lived in Salem, Massachusetts (Witch City, USA) for 7 years…I still miss it. And yes, I went out with the ghastly horde of 100,000+ people on Halloween in costume! It was hands down the best place I’ve ever lived.  (Sorry Jersey!)

4.  In college, I still had no idea what I wanted to “be when I grew up”…so I just studied what I loved.   Culture and all its components including religion, language and the arts.   I double majored in Spanish and Religion and minored in Middle Eastern Studies at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.   I now do accounting for a Real Estate Development and Property Management Company!  Go figure!

5. I have two “phobias”:  The first – of sharp cutting implements of all kinds (I refuse to watch any brutally violent movies) and the second – of  losing my teeth (I have recurring nightmares that I’m wandering an outdoor flea market and catching my teeth in my hand as they fall out.  In reality, I have strong teeth…and have had 1 “maybe” baby cavity when I was a teen. I say maybe because I later heard several reports-one from my own sister-that upon getting second opinions it was found that this dentist lied about cavities to make money on fillings)

6.  Some of my favorites:

Food: Eggplant Parm
Fruit: Grapefruit
Store: Christmas Tree Shops
Color:  Green
TV Show: The West Wing
Animal:  Cat
Smell:  The forest after a rainfall

7. I am going to leave this one up to my readers. If any of you have a question for me…feel free to post it in the comments and if there’s an interest I’ll answer them in another post!

I have picked a few versatile blogs that I love to read and which I’d love to share. Please check them out. They are each and every one of them special in their own way.

Thanks again Megan 🙂  You made my day!

And for those of you who haven’t made my list…don’t feel bad.  Your blogs either tend to have a theme (and therefore I don’t define them as versatile) or many of you have just recently been passed this award!

About Melissa's Meanderings

Interests: Green Living, The Environment, Animal Rights, Reading, Gardening, Home Improvement, Pets, Vegetarianism, Photography.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Random Ramblings? Nay, Versatility!! An Award

  1. analyfe says:

    Thank you so much for the award, Melissa! I am honored and excited it pass it along. 😀

  2. soozling says:

    Yay! How fun! I’m going to have to think hard about my 7 things. 🙂

  3. vixter2010 says:

    Congrats Melissa, well deserved! So cool you lived in Salem 🙂 I also used to read Nancy Drew, the film version was disappointing!

  4. Nicole says:

    Thank you SO much for the award!! 🙂 You made my day! First of all, I totally remember reading that Nancy Drew book that you have a picture of in this post. Ha, ha. LOVED Nancy Drew growing up and I own quite a few books from the series. Oh, yeah, I still have them. Some things, you just can’t let go. Secondly, I’ve been to Salem, Mass… Lovely town! 🙂

  5. Megan says:

    You’re very welcome Melissa! You totally deserve it 🙂 Glad to have brightened your day! Congratulations dear!

  6. Thanks so much! Congrats on your award! BTW, I love Nancy Drew! I remember getting so excited to go to the library when I was young and I’d read for hours. Between those books and the Little House on the Prairie, I was in heaven. Those were the days! And good for you for being a vegetarian. I’ve never been a big fan of meat anyway. I do still eat a little chicken and turkey here and there but I’ve changed my diet drastically in recent years and I’ve noticed a huge change in my health.

  7. Congrats! I love reading your blog and you deserve this cool award.
    By the way, I grew up reading Nancy Drew too!

  8. Artswebshow says:

    Congratulations, its a nice award.
    The forest after rainfall. so refreshing

  9. Wendy S. says:

    Oh Melissa, first congratulations! You are extremely versatile with your love for the earth, cats and spiritual path. And thank you so much for giving the award to me. I accept it with deep gratitude. Almost everything you mentioned about yourself, I can totally relate too…Love of reading and books saved my life growing up and is still one of my hugest passions, “The West Wing”, loved that show and each character became so cherished to me. Really “interesting” phobias and in no way am I making light of them. Perhaps a past life where you suffered and lost your teeth? Sometimes our fears have no basis in reality at least to our present circumstances and I can’t help but think that they have to come from another time and dimension.

    I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you better and again I thank you humbly for the award : )

    • You deserve it Wendy!! I love your blog…from the relaxing and soothing Tuesday Teas to the more thought provoking posts! The characters definitely made The West Wing–it’s rare to see a television show that focuses on such hot topics also leave plenty of room for character development. Glad to know I’m not the only one who fell in love with it!

  10. Awesome award! Congrats!! I love Christmas shops as well!! People definitely think I’m a little off with my love for Christmas. It’s such a magical time of the year, I wish I was as kind as I am throughout the holiday season…. Definitely something to work towards.

  11. silvercannon says:

    Congratulations on your award!

    My question for # 7 is: Do you have gardening and yard projects planned that you’re going to blog about?

    Thanks for not giving me the award and I mean this in the friendliest, most respectful way. I would have been annoyed and have taken to my bed for a long, long nap.

    • HA! I somehow had a feeling that you wouldn’t be too keen on it…somewhat like a chain letter really!

      I’ll answer your question here as you’re the only one who has asked one. This is my first Spring having a real yard (My old house had such a small property). This is still a pretty small area though…less than 1/4 an acre. Gotta love suburbia. I do have a few small projects that I am hoping to accomplish-revamping the section in front of the house between the steps and the drive and making it a flower and herb garden, hopefully a small vegetable patch on the side of the house, and starting a compost heap behind the shed. I know nothing about gardening…so I need to teach myself everything from step one!! And yes…I’m sure I’ll be blogging about it once it gets above 40 degrees and I can get out there!

  12. Melissa…Congratulations and thanks so much for passing it on to me my friend. I am just thrilled. Its my first blogger award! I too loved Nancy Drew and we still have the books as well….my daughters read them too. We have alot in common in many ways:)
    I am touched you thought of me and thank you again. Gonna try to follow the rules as well LOL
    Blessings and Love, Autumn

  13. Aww you love reading like me. We’re two cats in a cat tower so to speak (well after we boot my two fur-babies out anyway). Congrats on your reward. Oh and McKay’s…it was awesome. My post today highlights the trip with bad photography!

  14. I love Nancy Drew! My dream car is a white convertible to this day. 🙂 Did you know they have a new, modern Nancy Drew series out? I’m kind of hoping my girls love the classic ones that my mom and I read though.
    Great to learn more about you.

    Amy

    • I remember when I was younger—I think middle school–I heard that Carolyn Keene had passed away and that her niece was taking over for her…the new books looked a lot more modern…slim paperbacks with fancy covers…but when I read one I found it to be lacking all the charm of the older ones… Suffice it to say that was when I “outgrew” Nancy Drew…she’d gotten too modern for me!

Share your thoughts